Is it really necessary for motorhome electrics to be so complicated? (1 Viewer)

life in the slow lane

Free Member
Feb 8, 2017
Midlands
Funster No
MH
Still looking
Exp
I'm a newbie
Is it really necessary for the electrical circuits on a motorhome to be so complicated? I don't need to know what the voltage of my battery is or what current I'm drawing and why do I need to operate 3 switches to turn on a light and need to reset everything after the engine has been running. What would be wrong with having everything permanently connected with maybe the provision of a master switch for periods of none use.

Mar 11, 2014
Lincs
Funster No
MH
PVC
Exp
Since 2010
Is it really necessary for the electrical circuits on a motorhome to be so complicated? I don't need to know what the voltage of my battery is or what current I'm drawing and why do I need to operate 3 switches to turn on a light and need to reset everything after the engine has been running. What would be wrong with having everything permanently connected with maybe the provision of a master switch for periods of none use.

I think it depends on the particular motorhome as to whether it's perceived to be complicated or not.

I do basically have one master switch (the 12v one) which makes everything work once switched on and I don't need to reset anything after the engine has been running, it all works the same. The only thing I do need to do is switch the fridge from 12v to gas, and those with auto fridges won't even need to do this.

With regard to voltage/current meters, these are handy for those of us who predominately use the vans off grid so that we can see the state of charge of the batteries and whether they need properly charging up.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Ivory55

Free Member
May 23, 2012
North West Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
Since Feb 2012
12volt black magic, I feel your pain. Haha

Jan 19, 2014
Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Elddis Accordo 105
Exp
since 2014