Fridge help please

Discussion in 'Fridges & Ovens' started by Figaro, Jun 22, 2018.

  1. Figaro

    Figaro Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    2,128
    Location:
    Newcastle under Lyme Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +2,709
    I have had problems getting three way dometic fridge to stay lit on gas. It flashes, lights on gas, stops clicking. But after holding the button in for 20/30 seconds it starts flashing again, ie not lit.
    I have just replaced the thermocouple but still doing the same.
    Is there any technique to replacing thermocouple ? At the valve end I just pushed it on and tightened nut. At flame end, it sits firmly above the flame.
    Anything else that could cause symptoms ?
    Thanks
     
  2. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    6,026
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +8,167
    Position of the thermocouple is critical. The tip should be red-hot in use. The last one that gave me trouble was no more than 2mm out of place (it pushed through a ferrule in the burner shroud).
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    31,278
    Location:
    Suffolk Coastal
    Ratings:
    +33,602
    as @tonyidle said..

    and the hottest part of the flame is the tip of the dark blue cone which is inside the flame

    persevere, and all hold the gas valve a bit longer, up to a minute
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. The gasman

    The gasman Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Messages:
    254
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +286
    Not all that common but I have had a new thermocouple that's faulty. If possible try another thermocouple. Also make sure the flame is burning correctly, blue and be sure the gas valve end of the t'couple is tight
     
  5. old-mo

    old-mo Funster Extra Special Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    14,451
    Location:
    Haughton, Stafford..
    Ratings:
    +72,207
    Unscrew the jet and give it a good blow out, just in case a minuscule bit of grit or some thing is partially blocking it..

    But DON`T try poking anything down the TINY hole...
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  6. Shrimp

    Shrimp Funster

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,384
    Location:
    Bedford
    Ratings:
    +2,925
    Hear, hear, never ever poke the jet hole out with something, someone I know nearly set fire to his van doing that as the jet material is soft it opened up the tiny hole and flames whipped up the side of the van!
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  7. The gasman

    The gasman Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Messages:
    254
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +286
    We use fuse wire as it's too soft to damage the injector, if it's too small for fuse wire try a single brisle from a paint brush, or even wash out with water. If you hold the injector up to the light and look through it the hole should be round and even if not it has some dirt in it.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  8. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    31,278
    Location:
    Suffolk Coastal
    Ratings:
    +33,602
  9. JockandRita

    JockandRita Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    7,121
    Location:
    Lincs/Cambs border
    Ratings:
    +33,780
    In years past, I too have used a piece of fine fuse wire to clear a gas jet, but these days, I find air pressure from a 12v tyre inflator compressor does the job, using the plastic coned nozzle.

    I've also used the same to blow back on a friend's gas cooker on his narrow boat, when insufficient gas was getting through. The cause turned out to be a dead spider, somewhere in the gas line. ;) It all worked a treat after that. (y)

    Cheers,

    Jock. :)

    Edit.......... @Figaro, I too agree about the Thermo Couple being the possible cause of the problem.
     
  10. Richard and Ann

    Richard and Ann Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,670
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +3,307
    If you can unscrew the jet you can soak it in petrol overnight and that will probably clear it. It always fixes the turbo torch anyway.
     
  11. JeanLuc

    JeanLuc Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,207
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +2,603
    Mine had similar symptoms a few years ago (model RM6401L). It was caused by a faulty control box into which the thermocouple is linked. It is located up to the left looking at the rear of the fridge. It was diagnosed and replaced for me by Dave Newell.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. Figaro

    Figaro Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    2,128
    Location:
    Newcastle under Lyme Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +2,709
    I tried lighting again and held button for 60-80 seconds and it lit. Woopie. Does that suggest probe badly positioned over piolt flame ?
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice