Drl lights

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Mark5204, Jan 25, 2015.

  1. Mark5204

    Mark5204

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +61
    Hi. I have a set of DRL lights I am thinking of putting on to my 54 reg ducato. They don't come with relays etc. Does anyone know if it will cause problems when connecting to hook up. Is there a way around it if so?
     
  2. DBK

    DBK Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    10,632
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    Ratings:
    +22,892
  3. Mark5204

    Mark5204

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +61
    Great Thank-you. Was a little bit concerned as I have read on here about problems when hooking up to mains etc.
     
  4. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14,482
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Ratings:
    +19,322
    I don't understand what DRL's have got to do with being on hook up?
    DRL's should only work when you are driving, how long is your lead?
     
  5. Mark5204

    Mark5204

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +61
    I agree but I have read it on this site and being new to MH wanted to check.
    I have Googled and there are supposedly special DRL KITS to avoid the issue.
     
  6. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14,482
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Ratings:
    +19,322
  7. Mark5204

    Mark5204

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +61
    I was reading a post on Drl lights
     
  8. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14,482
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Ratings:
    +19,322
    Surely it would have been better to continue in the thread where you read that? Unless you can find it I cannot comment
     
  9. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14,482
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Ratings:
    +19,322
  10. Mark5204

    Mark5204

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +61
    it's in a post that you were part of I don't know how to copy link but if you look in tech section under Day running lights. Page 2 it's mentioned there
     
  11. Mark5204

    Mark5204

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +61
  12. Mark5204

    Mark5204

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +61
    That's what got me wondering. Your lights look good
     
  13. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14,482
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Ratings:
    +19,322
    I've never heard of that and certainly the instructions with mine never said anything but then again if they are wired to the instructions which would be an ignition switch feed AND a permanent feed (to the control unit) as well as a negative connection and a headlight connection. I can't imagine how they can be brought on by mains to the habitation.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  14. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14,482
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Ratings:
    +19,322
    The permanent feed allows the DRL to stay lit for a period after switching the ignition off. The ignition switched feed powers the lights at full brightness and the headlight connection tells the controller to dim the DRL when headlights are on.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  15. Mark5204

    Mark5204

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +61
    The ones I have got here don't have a controller or anything so either going to wait and buy a better set or give these to a mechanic friend of mine to wire up.
     
  16. Wickolad

    Wickolad

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Messages:
    482
    Location:
    Wickersley
    Ratings:
    +620
    I think there may have been a misunderstanding and that the OP meant there may be problems when connecting, using 'hook up' as a phrase for adding power to the lights. Problems he mentions may be those discussed for Canbus system.
     
  17. Wickolad

    Wickolad

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Messages:
    482
    Location:
    Wickersley
    Ratings:
    +620
    Hi Mark, I think you just need a DRL relay, usually have to buy them seperate. The instructions that come with the relay are self explanatory, however, the excellent thread by Techno mentioned above will fully explain all.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  18. Mark5204

    Mark5204

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +61
    Thank you for your reply. Will look for a relay. Very helpful.
     
  19. Wickolad

    Wickolad

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Messages:
    482
    Location:
    Wickersley
    Ratings:
    +620
    • Like it Like it x 1
  20. Mark5204

    Mark5204

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +61
    Thank-you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page