Advice for our longest holiday yet. (1 Viewer)

Feb 19, 2017
Leighton Buzzard
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
Ten years
In a last minute change of plans instead of flying to a family celebration in Portugal in a few days, I’m going to drive down as fast as I can then meet my wife and family who will already be there. My plan is now to take a couple of months off and slowly drive home along the coast from the Algarve into Spain and ever North, perhaps stopping at a c and cc rally for a week or so. Now I’m far from a newbie but this will be our longest holiday yet and I wonder if those of you lucky enough to enjoy extended breaks have any tips to pass on?
I have a refillable lpg bottle, an extra cassette, a little charcoal bbq and an electric griddle. Tv watching will have to be restricted to dvd films as we don’t have a dish. I have acsi, Aires books, maps and a gps, but is there anything else I’ve not thought about?
Thank you.

Apr 27, 2008
Eastbourne East Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer low profile
Exp
Since 1972
Looks like you don't have solar. Could be useful as many sites on your way will not be open this time of year especially in France, though many are open in Spain and Portugal. Most aires don't have ehu. I would recommend travelling with a full water tank for the same reason, as the water will be turned off in many aires to avoid frost damage.

Riverbankannie

LIFE MEMBER
Mar 11, 2016
Bristol
Funster No
MH
IH 630 RL PVC
Exp
Looks like you have it sorted. We don’t do anything differently on long trips to weekends away in Uk apart from the making sure have all documents.
Make sure your breakdown covers you otherwise there’s nothing you cannot sort on way.
Have a wonderful trip.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
Crazylegs
Feb 19, 2017
Leighton Buzzard
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
Ten years