Tv aerial for Europe

Discussion in 'The Beginner' started by Briony and R ichard, Sep 14, 2016.

  1. Briony and R ichard

    Briony and R ichard Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Devon tq125 nw
    We have just bought our first m/h called Peggy.we have been away in her to Wales.that went very well.we are planning to do Europe next winter 2017. Can anyone recommend a good tv aerial to use pls.!!
     
  2. Anthea M

    Anthea M Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    6,322
    Likes Received:
    19,787
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Hello and welcome :WelcomeFlag:
     
  3. monzer

    monzer Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 17, 2016
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire
    I can't personally help with aerials but for TV it is worthwhile pointing out that there is other options. For example I use skygo on my pc and just plug it in to my TV with an HD lead or use a chromecast. There are loads of other options such as different apps and TV boxes that will all offer you your UK TV as long as you have wifi.
     
  4. Stealaway

    Stealaway Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,330
    Likes Received:
    1,376
    Location:
    Dronfield - Derbyshire
    If you are planning to watch French TV you'll need an HD TV. Other than that you'll need a satellite dish for UK TV but only down to just south of Paris. We have a HD loaded with films and TV series for foreign trips.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  5. pyro

    pyro Funster

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,422
    Likes Received:
    4,068
    Location:
    silver coast, portugal
    Hi and Welcome

    From our perspective we have found television around Europe to be little better than the UK, absolutely dire, and have abandoned it altogether in favour of 4G internet and VPN, along with downloaded content
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  6. BobtheBass

    BobtheBass Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    1,978
    Location:
    Tewkesbury
    I thought that you needed an HD tele as well now in France, but I am there now and our non-HD tele has worked excellently everywhere? In fact, the picture quality is bordering on HD. Maybe my tv has hidden qualities the manual doesn't cover?
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
  7. Minxy Girl

    Minxy Girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    11,238
    Likes Received:
    12,483
    Location:
    E Yorks
    You could get a normal domestic type HD tv aerial like this MHer had that we were travelling behind the other day!

    tv aerial.jpg
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  8. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    30,504
    Likes Received:
    18,191
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    The same one you use in the UK.
     
  9. Bart

    Bart Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,912
    Likes Received:
    561
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    am i wrong or right in thinking your tv must have a "DVB-T2 HD" tuner to get french tv ?
     
  10. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    30,504
    Likes Received:
    18,191
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    I believe you're correct.
    No HD television...no picture.
     
  11. Bart

    Bart Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,912
    Likes Received:
    561
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    i remembered when i went to buy a 12v TV for the MH that i stumbled across this info just before i bought the TV, as i knew i would be in France some time
     
  12. BobtheBass

    BobtheBass Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    1,978
    Location:
    Tewkesbury
    Again, in France at the moment and I only have DVB T2 (no HD) and everything is working fine? I don't have a HD tv so the tuner can't (presumably) be HD?
     
  13. Cilfan

    Cilfan Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    398
    Location:
    Flint North Wales
    My experience of French TV is based on living in Burgundy from 2002-06 so things may have changed but I suspect not and have to agree with Pyro - dire! Full of silly game and chat shows which, even if you're into that sort of thing, you need to be fully fluent in the language to keep up with. My French (at that time) was pretty good, but it used to wear me out concentrating. That's why, for the only time in my life, I succumbed to Sky and got a perfectly good signal. So if you feel you have to have TV, satellite / t'internet or building a library of viewing would be the way I'd go. Just my opinion.
     
  14. The Wino

    The Wino Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    2,717
    Location:
    leicester
    More wine and a book
     
    • Funny Funny x 3
    • Like it Like it x 1
  15. Camping Gaza

    Camping Gaza Funster

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    362
    Location:
    London
    Ditch the tv, just record what you need at home. More time for wine! But thats not what you wanted to hear is it...

    Use internet instead. Get Mifi.
     
  16. DBK

    DBK Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    9,431
    Likes Received:
    13,267
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    Kindle is your friend. :)
     
  17. Speve

    Speve Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,363
    Likes Received:
    2,369
    Location:
    Salisbury
    The problem with people using site wifi for tv is that it buggers it up for everyone else who only want to open their emails as there is not enough bandwidth for all the tv users.
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
    • Informative Informative x 1
  18. BobtheBass

    BobtheBass Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    1,978
    Location:
    Tewkesbury
    Agreed. People who use site wifi to watch tv should be forced to push sausages through keyholes as punishment. It's really selfish and uses up all the dribble of bandwidth to the detriment of everyone else.
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  19. monzer

    monzer Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 17, 2016
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire
    Cooked sausages or raw?
     
  20. Bart

    Bart Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,912
    Likes Received:
    561
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    they would be cremated for sure if you were cooking them while w8ing on the TV to stop buffering,
     
Loading...

Share This Page