Total and utter newbie (1 Viewer)

Jan 13, 2019
Hampshire
Funster No
MH
Autosleeper Burford Duo
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi I'm Jules, married to Ross and we've just got our first motor home, we bought it yesterday and are picking it up next Monday.

The main reason we got one is that we have 2 dogs and wanted more freedom when going away with the dogs, plus we can go further afield as we can stop overnight to break up the journey, I'm thinking like on trips to Scotland.

We live in Hampshire, so down the bottom of the UK but we are looking forward to exploring more of the country and generally having fun and relaxing with the dogs.

I'm going to make some quilted covers (bit like fitted sheets) to pop over the cushions, so if the dogs get muddy/sandy/grubby the covers will catch the dirt not the upholstery, and after each trip I can chuck them in the washing machine and they'll be ready for next time we go away.

I'm thinking there must be a list of 'must haves' to pack, lists of 'dos and don'ts' and stuff along those lines........also I'm guessing there must be an art to packing so you don't get 10 mins down the road and have to pull over to stop something 'rattling'.

Anyway, looking forward to getting to know you better and picking your brains with beginner questions LOL

Jul 18, 2009
Manchester UK + Javea/Xabia Spain + Abu Dhabi
Funster No
MH
HYMER B644
Exp
Hello Jules & Ross,

Welcome to the forum.

I dont think, especially having two dogs, you will look back and think, should not have done it.

From experience, there is no other way of finding out other than jumping in at the deep end.

Their are plenty of smart 4rses and know alls on here (myself included) who think they know the best way. But often, the best way is only their way and not yours.

Many Happy & Safe Travels.

TM

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
There isn't a list of "must have's"