Free Member
Apr 9, 2018
Dudley
Funster No
MH
Dethleffs Advantage
Exp
I'm a newbie
I've noticed a few motor homes that are off site starting their engines up and leaving them idling...I inquired why and was told to boost their leisure battery and was also told it's ok as long as it's not over 20 mins,,is this correct?,,I'm no expert but I thought it would it damage the engine?...

Aug 27, 2009
Hertfordshire
Funster No
MH
Van Conversion
Exp
40 years

Two on Tour

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 16, 2016
Near the junction of the A14 and A1, Cambs
Funster No
MH
Elddis Autoquest 175
Exp
Since 2010
If their motorhome is fairly new, it's likely fitted with a smart alternator and if that's the case and their cab battery is fully charged, then they are pretty well wasting their time and fuel as the alternator will push bugger all to the leisure battery.

OP
OP
Paul and Pippa

Paul and Pippa

Free Member
Apr 9, 2018
Dudley
Funster No
MH
Dethleffs Advantage
Exp
I'm a newbie
If their motorhome is fairly new, it's likely fitted with a smart alternator and if that's the case and their cab battery is fully charged, then they are pretty well wasting their time and fuel as the alternator will push bugger all to the leisure battery.
the two I saw were very old ...

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

filopastry

Free Member
Nov 11, 2013
london
Funster No
MH
littleun
Exp
newbie and learning every day
Yet fair ground folks have their engines running slowly for hours. Neither condoning nor condemning simply as with Paul and Pippa questioning the perceived facts. Would be nice to read definitive reasoned responses rather than "it might be, it could be etc" Opinions are great but facts are much better.

phil

Vic. Parsons.

Free Member
Mar 2, 2015
Wales
Funster No
MH
Hymermobil S740
Exp
since 2014
I think it depends more on what your attitude is to pollution. It is a selfish act however you look at it. It also carries an £80 fine.