inverter

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by ukbill, Aug 9, 2014.

  1. ukbill

    ukbill Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    5,024
    Likes Received:
    4,931
    Location:
    benidorm
    can someone tell me the best distance to instal my inverter to the batteries i can put it directly next the them or i can put them around 2 mtrs away next to the solar control and the incoming mains
    thanks
     
  2. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    6,422
    Likes Received:
    13,195
    Location:
    Kettering
    As close as possible to the batteries. The cabling from the inverter to the battery terminals needs to be as short as possible.
     
  3. keith

    keith Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,306
    Likes Received:
    1,690
    Location:
    Ecclefechan
    If the inverter has a cooling fan remember to make sure it's got ventilation.
     
  4. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3,465
    Likes Received:
    3,221
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    Any distance from the batteries is OK but the thickness of the cable required becomes impractical very quickly. Keep it next to the batteries & extend the mains from it to where you need it.
     
  5. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    28,028
    Likes Received:
    27,137
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    You are deep into electric history here. In USA they used DC originally and had exactly the same problems, losses in the cables, so built loads of power stations all over the city.

    Then along came Tesla, with his AC distribution. Immediately high voltage AC solved the cable losses and power stations could be built outside the city.

    Plus ça change.
     
  6. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    30,485
    Likes Received:
    18,174
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    2 mtrs shouldnt be a problem, but you will need feed cables as thick as your finger at least depending on the inverters output wattage.
     
Loading...

Share This Page