Hymer 240v electrics not working.

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by MrsBB, Jan 3, 2015.

  1. MrsBB

    MrsBB Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Messages:
    108
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +76
    Kept van on electric hook up on drive on very low . Brilliant idea coz had to sleep in it boxing day night due to family not being able to get home in snow! Somehow electrics have kicked out and it's automatically turned to gas ( we set it to that stupidly!) emptied gas bottles and defrosted fridge.

    Checked box ..... Rcd .....in wardrobe ..... Ok . Checked external lead supply ...... Ok . Checked fuses in locker and under drivers seat...... None seem blown .

    Any ideas what else to check or where else to look?

    Thanks
     
  2. canopus

    canopus Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,488
    Location:
    rural Lincolnshire
    Ratings:
    +4,702
    Have you checked the integrity of the circuit/supply from the house?
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  3. vin0114

    vin0114 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    Messages:
    841
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +975
    what appliance ran on gas to empty your bottles?
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  4. MrsBB

    MrsBB Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Messages:
    108
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +76
    Yes tried two different sockets and changed main hook up cable.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  5. MrsBB

    MrsBB Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Messages:
    108
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +76
    Turned fridge freezer to gas coz set on automatic.....I had been using freezer as extra storage space over Christmas. ...... Yes I know....... Stupid woman !!!!!
     
  6. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    19,083
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Ratings:
    +27,864
    I am not familiar with Hymers but both the German build vans we owned had fuses AND trips !
    The trips were hidden away in the Hobby.. When one tripped out I could not figure it to start with.. Was not until I started following the mains lead in from the EHU socket I found the darned things !
    So have a look where your EHU goes to and follow the wire as best you can.. you never know !
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  7. DanielFord

    DanielFord Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2013
    Messages:
    2,770
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +4,115
    I am not sure I understand, are you saying that all the electrics work fine except the fridge?
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  8. vin0114

    vin0114 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    Messages:
    841
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +975
    Are the mains plugs working within the van?
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  9. MrsBB

    MrsBB Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Messages:
    108
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +76
    Eureka!!!! Trip switch by ehu inlet . Shame no mention in the very thick handbook!

    Thank you so much, JAWS....... You've sussed it . That's what I love about Motorhome fun ...... Always someone willing to help !
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2015
    • Like it Like it x 3
  10. MrsBB

    MrsBB Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Messages:
    108
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +76
    none of the electrics .... Sockets , fridge etc none were working in van . I'd tried running ehu from two different sockets in house as a process of elimination. Thankfully there is an ehu inlet trip switch as jaws thought and it was that!
     
  11. MrsBB

    MrsBB Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Messages:
    108
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +76
    thanks for trying to help ..... Need to explain myself better in future . Always panic a bit when things don't work on the van ......
    All sorted now..... Relief!!!
     
  12. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    19,083
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Ratings:
    +27,864
    Good news !!
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  13. jenny and mitch

    jenny and mitch Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,244
    Location:
    Bungay Suffolk
    Ratings:
    +2,700
    Jaws bathes in glory again.. You'll be able to return the favour Mrs BB, when his step pops out again !!!! :xrofl:
     
    • Like it Like it x 3
  14. MrsBB

    MrsBB Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Messages:
    108
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +76
    Other hymer owners could be grateful for this knowledge particularly if new to German Motorhomes ! Thanks again
     
    • Like it Like it x 3
  15. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    19,083
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Ratings:
    +27,864
    Just glad to be able to be of some assistance mate :xThumb:
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  16. JeanLuc

    JeanLuc Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,046
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +2,388
    Have you any idea why the protection switch tripped? If not, I think I would want to find out before plugging in again.

    I would be interested to know which model / year your Hymer is. Mine is a 2003 B630 and the incoming mains trip switch is located in the bottom of the wardrobe (it's a fairly chunky white box with a twin-ganged switch near the top). This is described in the manual. I am not aware of any other trip switch near the EHU point but would be grateful for more info in case there is one I haven't found.
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2015
  17. Badknee

    Badknee Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4,288
    Location:
    notloB
    Ratings:
    +45,678
    Shhhhhhhhhhh!:xdoh::xrofl:
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  18. MrsBB

    MrsBB Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Messages:
    108
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +76
    Ours is a 830s ....2010. It has the chunky white box in wardrobe but it is not like the one in the manual which has a reset button on it.
    The fuse had gone in the plug in the house which was the root cause of problem . Pleased to report that van is back up to temperature without problems albeit only since yesterday. Fingers crossed !
     
  19. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    8,341
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +25,366
    Glad to hear all is or appears to be OK and working, I missed the thread yesterday.

    As we have very similar MH's can I just confirm that you found a fuse gone in the domestic adaptor bit, when I first read your reply it sounded like it was something in MH

    I agree with you about manual though, very thick and always seems to be referring to things not fitted in ours :)

    edit - out of interest do you have an RCD, we dont
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2015
  20. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    4,019
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +5,340
    My 2005 B584 has two MCBs: one in the incoming live and the other in the incoming neutral. They are in a white box under the base of the wardrobe on the RH side. There is no RCB - the back of the mains inlet and the cable from it to the white box are visible when the base of the wardrobe is opened.
     
Loading...

Share This Page