Has anyone actually been stopped by police during lockdown? (1 Viewer)

Oct 30, 2016
Colchester
Funster No
MH
Le voyageur 8.5
Exp
On 3rd van so not a total newbie....
Apart from the previous post which was lifted from Facebook about a couple supposedly getting stopped after a long journey for a hab service, just wondered if anyone on here has been stopped, either in their motorhome or car, and what was the result?

I'm not looking to break any rules, but just wondered how widespread these supposed stops are? What is the real risk? Personally I have only driven about 4 miles a week just to the shops since lockdown, but this week have a 200 mile round trip to take my mum for medical treatment.

Jan 25, 2013
Dorchester, Dorset, UK
Funster No
MH
Sad former owner
Exp
Since 1991
During the first March lockdown I was approached by two police officers when I’d stopped to look at the (then) novelty of six cruise ships in Weymouth Bay. When I’d given my explanation, one of them said “shall we say you were having a walk sir?” And then we had a chat about one of the ships we’d both been on recently! I thought it was sensitively handled by them.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Feb 16, 2020
Portugal
Funster No
MH
Dethleffs Globetrott
Exp
We are full-timers and ran out of gas on last week so had to go to the garage to fill up. On the way back, we were stopped by the Police as our correspondence / vehicle registration address is mum in laws in London. They asked us about our journey and I explained that we were full-timing, were resident on the site near Truro and registered with Cornwall County Council but needed gas to cook and heat the van.

The Policemen were polite, courteous had gloves and masks on and wished us well on our onward journey (all 3 miles of it 🙂).

jumar

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 6, 2012
Spain
Funster No
MH
Hymer Tramp
Exp
Since 1994