Driving in the Highlands

Likes collected
Funster No
MH
Hymer B534 DL (2017)
Exp
Well travelled
I've just read a post on Scottishwildcampers/Facebook about someone not happy being stuck in traffic by Lochcarron.

There has been a landslide, not uncommon on that road, and the usual (read only) diversion is about 140 miles. So the wait can be an hour or two depending on traffic and rail traffic as the road has to use the rail track.

If anyone is coming up here, then diversions will be loooooooooooooooooong as we don't have many roads. This isn't the south of England with lots of roads and even........motorways, heck the only dual carriageway is the A9.

So come up, enjoy the views, chill out and have a great time.

Silver-Fox

LIFE MEMBER
Likes collected
Funster No
MH
Rapido
Exp
im a not so newbie
When we were up your way they were doing lots of road words around Loch Lomond.
It caused ques but whats the rush anyway :)

OP
OP
BusyBuilder
Likes collected
Funster No
MH
Hymer B534 DL (2017)
Exp
Well travelled
When we travel south, it's quite noticeable how the traffic builds up around Lancaster and then just gets worse all the way south on the M6.
When we bought our van, we left Hereford heading north towards Lancaster for our first stop, it took us 6 hours just to get to Manchester the traffic was horrendous.

Likes collected
Funster No
MH
LP Coachbuilt
Exp
Since 2008 after caravanning for 20 years
Here in the South West of Scotland they're re-surfacing a road next week, diversion is 55 miles.

Ivory55

Free Member
Likes collected
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
Since Feb 2012
That recent land slide was 50 or 60 miles diversion wasn’t it ? Our friends said that was one of the problems when there was an accident when they was going to or from work the detour was always miles around.

kelpie

Free Member
Likes collected
Funster No
MH
Bessacarr E745
Exp
3 years
Here in the South West of Scotland they're re-surfacing a road next week, diversion is 55 miles.