A question - newbe about to go motorhoming for a year around Europe (1 Viewer)

The Browns

Free Member
Jun 25, 2019
Funster No
MH
Hymer 595 A class
Exp
I’m a newbie - about to start a years trip
Hi all, this is our first post, we are about to go travelling for a year around Europe (setting off mid October from Portsmouth to Santander (never been motor homing before ?) plan to do Spain and down to Portugal southern Spain over winter then up into France etc in summer due to heat!

We have just brought a hymer 595 (2003) left hand drive and await it’s collection in a few weeks as having a few things fitted (solar, new tyres etc..)

But I cannot find much info on this van????? It appears lovely and the perfect layout for us two and the dog - anyone now much about this model

I have a few Questions (some silly I guess, so sorry in advance ?)

1, though what weight is this van and how much can I carry? - I asked the dealer I’m buying it off and they sent me a picture of this plate (I have blanked a few letters out just in case?)
2, is the 595 a good model
3, here come the silly ones (how hot do these get in summer in Europe)
4, are there really free sites to stay which are nice, eg near beaches, pretty towns etc?

I have attached a couple of pictures also!

We are very excited!! And look forwards to learn and contribute to this helpful forums!

Ps any other tips are welcomed!

Attachments

• 48FEDFFC-B540-4780-A780-3546FB913631.jpeg
    48FEDFFC-B540-4780-A780-3546FB913631.jpeg
    343.8 KB · Views: 114
  • 41863ED0-214E-4553-BECF-C0ECBFE01B92.jpeg
    41863ED0-214E-4553-BECF-C0ECBFE01B92.jpeg
    51.9 KB · Views: 114
  • EDC3BD28-F869-4BB3-92B9-06785A97E849.jpeg
    EDC3BD28-F869-4BB3-92B9-06785A97E849.jpeg
    49.2 KB · Views: 100
  • B26CA5F6-F94F-491E-AB49-F7D1621B5B26.jpeg
    B26CA5F6-F94F-491E-AB49-F7D1621B5B26.jpeg
    52.6 KB · Views: 94
May 7, 2011
East Anglia
Funster No
MH
Kontiki 669
Exp
Since 2010
Hi and w2f

I cannot advise on the weight of the motorhome .