A mifi question

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Nirvanauk, Aug 24, 2012.

  1. Nirvanauk

    Nirvanauk Funster

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,578
    Location:
    God's county. North Yorkshire.
    Ratings:
    +12,397
    Hi,
    I need to buy a payg mifi. The best deal seems to be with the 3 network, however I'm going to France for a month and want to be able to use it there. I believe that data roaming charges can be huge so do I need to buy an unlocked mifi and then buy a data sim in France or can I still get the one from 3 and just change the sim when I get there?

    Can anyone also recommend an unlocked mifi and data sim if I can't use the one from 3 ?

    Many thanks.
     
  2. slobadoberbob

    slobadoberbob

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,159
    Location:
    Kent, garden of England
    Ratings:
    +1,971
    I did not think you could use them in France?

    I did not think you could use them in France????

    the 3 mifi is great in the UK.... I had a good signal at Malvern when few could get a signal...


    Bob
     
  3. chatter

    chatter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,723
    Location:
    cheshire
    Ratings:
    +941
    Check out Ebay someone posted a link in chat the other night to an unlocked one, (or one that the person selling would unlock if required)
     
  4. chatter

    chatter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,723
    Location:
    cheshire
    Ratings:
    +941
    Why not Bob, its the same as a dongle, but rather than having to be attached via a usb it uses a wifi connection to your lappy/notebook/pad like a home broadband service
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2012
  5. Dubiousp

    Dubiousp

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +45
    I bought the 3 mifi pay as you go and then unlocked it through EBAY. Since then what ever card ive put in the unit sets its own settings and away you go.

    Ive not tried outside UK but have tryed all the common providers but also some of the strange ones here
     
  6. TM59

    TM59 Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    144
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +77
  7. Nirvanauk

    Nirvanauk Funster

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,578
    Location:
    God's county. North Yorkshire.
    Ratings:
    +12,397
    Thanks for that. Just had a quick look at the site it offers three packs.
    For low end use there seems no way of buying extra time. For medium use it does not support mifi and the high end use is limited to 30 days that you have to pay a £100 deposit for the sim and then return it to them after 30 days.
     
  8. Nirvanauk

    Nirvanauk Funster

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,578
    Location:
    God's county. North Yorkshire.
    Ratings:
    +12,397
    Roam line.com seems quite useful.
     
  9. Phill D

    Phill D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414
    Location:
    South Wales
    Ratings:
    +4,660
    unlocking the 3 Huawei MIFI unit is a piece of cake with a £1.99 spend on ebay. did mine worked a treat took literally minutes to do but must be attached to PC to do it.

    as for cheap Data roaming outside Uk thats the " Holy Grail" , it all seems a bit expensive to me. if you find one please post it.:thumb:
     
  10. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    8,699
    Location:
    Dorset
    Ratings:
    +14,446
    • Like it Like it x 1
  11. goldwinger

    goldwinger Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Snaith
    Ratings:
    +9
    If you are in Portugal a sim from Nos is a Euro a day for great strong wifi got iPad two phone and a fire sick all working well streaming most nights, and it's pay as you go.
     
  12. Diabalo

    Diabalo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,084
    Location:
    Rochester
    Ratings:
    +594
    This is a 5 year old post I think things have changed a lot now.
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  13. peterc10

    peterc10 Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    4,835
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    Ratings:
    +5,541
    This is a 5 year old thread and the comments are now well out of date. You can now buy preloaded Three SIMs that can be used throughout Europe including Portugal
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  14. Teuchter

    Teuchter Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Messages:
    845
    Location:
    Lee on the Solent
    Ratings:
    +4,316
    I too need help :)

    I have a Huawei (Genuine UK Spec) Unlocked E5377s-32 150 Mbps 4G LTE Mobile WiFi Hotspot with a 3 sim on POYG - works fine in

    France, Spain & Portugal
    IF (and a big IF) one of 3's partner networks have good reception!! which is quite often not the case!

    It often shows Orange or Vodafone as present but (as I am on 3) unavailable - so if I had a PAYG Huawei compatible vodafone sim I guess it would work fine on that?

    Also whilst the mifi spec. is 4G I can only get 3G - could it be the 3 sim causing this?

    Thanks in advance to anyone helping (y)


     
  15. Chrysalis

    Chrysalis Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Messages:
    143
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +671
    It doesn't really answer your question, but we just signed up for an EE MiFi. At £22/month it is not cheap, but we do like to keep on line and this gives us 20GB per month at very high speed and we run 2 smart phones, 2 iPads and the Sat Nav on it whilst travelling and alsonplan to link in the Skybox for on Demand. Putting the £22 into context, it is one night in a CC Club site so we can finance it by more frequently using Brit Stops
     
  16. Chrysalis

    Chrysalis Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Messages:
    143
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +671
    Ps, the EE MiFi also works throughout Europe with no Roaming Charges
     
  17. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,256
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +23,593
    Always buy a genuine unlocked version then you can swap and change networks as you need/want.
    EBay usually have an abundance of unlocked ex-network (3, EE etc) mifi but they can be choosy which networks they will accept.
    If it has a network logo on the case it's usually as above
     
  18. ChrisL

    ChrisL Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2015
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Bedfont
    Ratings:
    +123
    I think if you need 4G in Europe you may need to get a Vodaphone or a local SIM, i don't have first hand knowledge of this but it seems that way from what i've read.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  19. David Bunker

    David Bunker Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Canterbury
    Ratings:
    +36
    Three partners in Europe usually only offer 3G to us Three roamers even if they have 4G available. I'd imagine Three have it that way to keep costs down.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  20. Sabino

    Sabino Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    150
    Location:
    Preston
    Ratings:
    +206
    Do you think they will still be able to do that after 15th June? Shouldn't we get the same as we have in our home country?
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
Loading...

Share This Page