My motorhome plan /comments or suggestions would be appreciated (1 Viewer)

Lancslass1967

Free Member
Jul 16, 2019
Funster No
MH
Dont own yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
Ok hi everyone. I am a single 51 year lady who wishes to change her life style. Just sorting out my home to put on market, my plan being to live in motorhome fulltime. I work full time and will retire in just over 8 years. I plan to park the van in the week at a campsite across the road from my work (they have workers pitchers for £240 per month plus electric) the site appears lovely although the workers pitches are on gravel with no green so basically parking in a carpark. I then intend to travel at weekends until I go full time touring when I retire. No experience of campervans to date. Was thinking of spending c £50k as it will be my full time home, starting looking I think bunk beds at rear best idea as I would use top bunk for storage, seen a hymer 524 I think it was that looked good, want a garage space at back as well any thoughts.

Wellington

Free Member
May 23, 2018
Leicestershire
Funster No
MH
Carthago Compact 138
Look at a lot of vans, play in them, pretend you are going through your daily routines. I thought bunks would work for us, but actually they felt very cramped and you couldn’t sit up in bed at all. Borrow, hire or beg to look and vans and listen with open ears to their owners when they talk about their foibles (the vans foibles. Not the owners). Are people looking for vans allowed to come on rallies? If there is one local to you, you’d gain an awful lot for going and bending everyone’s ears!

Upvote 0
Feb 27, 2011
UK
Funster No
MH
Self Build
Exp
Since 2005
Having fulltimed for 10 years I am making a big change. I was going to go for a big 7.5T truck and convert that. However it turns out I wouldn't be welcome at quite a few places I love going.