Storage precautions.... any advice? (1 Viewer)

David M Franks

Free Member
Sep 5, 2017
Diss, Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Elddis Majestic 165
As a total noob, I welcome any advice from any of you seasoned Funsters.
I now need to lay up our MH for around six weeks, as I'm being sent abroad on business. Sod's Law - I was so looking forward to our first adventure.

The previous owners advised that leaving the windows open a tiny bit will stop the thing smelling fusty. And I've turned the fridge off but opened the door. I'm slightly worried about the leisure battery, as I can't yet plug in the mains adaptor thingy. The water tanks are all drained. But if there's anything else that I can do, please chime in!

Thanks
Dave

movan

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 2, 2009
Moving around
Funster No
MH
Burstner
Exp
since07
Can't advise on the two things you mention as mine has solar panels .. hence I opted for outside storage.

The windows open bit bothers me too as my biggest fear is mice .. having had that experience I do EVERYTHING advised on this forum to keep them out ..

Also, remember you can SORN your van if it offroad.

Upvote 0
Feb 9, 2008
Corby, Northants
Funster No
MH
Coach Built
Exp
Since 2007
If your storage is secure. I would recommend disconnecting the neg lead off both sets of batteries this will prevent them from draining whilst your away. This will immobilise your alarm system should you have one fitted. Crack open two vents as far apart as possible to allow air to pass through which will prevent condensation. Chock one wheel with your levelling blocks and leave your handbrake off. Open all dors and cupboards to allow air to circulate. You may as well drain of all your water to be on the safe side.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

magicsurfbus

Free Member
Oct 11, 2010
NW England
Funster No
MH
Bessacarr Coachbuilt
Exp
Since 1997