Overnight in car park in New Forest (1 Viewer)

arto stu

Free Member
Aug 29, 2017
Farnborough
Funster No
MH
Niesmann Bischoff Arto 69
Exp
Im a newbie
This may have been answered but a quick search could not find anything so here goes...

I am in the New Forest in a free car park... there is a sign saying no camping... but nothing about time limits... can I just sleep in the van as long as I dont put anything out like an awning?... if I just left a car there unattended would I be breaking some law

Assuming I did has anyone had experience of being "moved on"... forest is very quite this time of year :)

Any advice gratefully received

Stu

Feb 24, 2013
Bolsover, Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Hymer S800
Exp
not long enough
the only 'real' answer would come from the owner of the signage

we wouldn't overnight where it says no camping, but some would, it will almost certainly offend a few that see you parked there if you do

https://www.campingintheforest.co.uk/england/new-forest

these are all under £20 / night and would be my choice (y) although not all open still most are I think

Upvote 0
OP
OP
arto stu

arto stu

Free Member
Aug 29, 2017
Farnborough
Funster No
MH
Niesmann Bischoff Arto 69
Exp
Im a newbie
Thanks... I know I just spent a fortune on the van... but somehow £20 for "nothing" seems wrong... on the forest the "parking is nothing other than a bit of cleared land... but i get your point

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

Hollyberry

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 24, 2011
New Forest.
Funster No
MH
None.
Exp
4yrs
You'll probably be moved on. The verderers are very much against people staying overnight.
If you don't want to go to a site you could always just park up in a village. I slept in the motorhome in Sway a couple of times.

Upvote 0
Sep 3, 2009
NW Surrey
Funster No
MH
LHD Hymer exsis-i
It isn't allowed.