Omni Step - dead

Discussion in 'Auto-Trail' started by pvw10, Jan 3, 2013.

  1. pvw10

    pvw10

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    Gloucester
    Ratings:
    +45
    Hi all,
    before i take to bits any thoughts ?

    I replaced the leisure battery (see thread below) but other than that no other changes, it worked just fine before so thinking a big coincidence.
    The mains invertor is turned off to let the leisure battery run down a bit so i can check its charging when i turn it back on but even with this turned on no joy but sure its on 12v anyway.

    First the Omnistore blind died now the step, in future its Fiamma all the way.

    Thanks in advance,
     
  2. peter marshall

    peter marshall

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702
    Location:
    Cleveleys,Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +1,714
    I always thought the step worked off the cab battery, has it goes in automatically when the ignition is started. Pete
     
  3. Stonemags76

    Stonemags76 Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    144
    Location:
    Derbyshire Dales
    Ratings:
    +121
    I read somewhere about a separate fuse for the step somewhere, but my ages brain can't remember where! I'm sure a search would find it. That may have blown when messing with battery?
    :Smile:
     
  4. pvw10

    pvw10

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    Gloucester
    Ratings:
    +45
    Thanks all.

    Mine never went away when you drive off, yet should ?

    Think the cab battery is much lower than it should be so have stuck on 240v for a charge.
     
  5. reader

    reader Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    183
    Location:
    IO83rk
    Ratings:
    +76
    I found the sep' fuse under the drivers seat for the step.

    It would work ok from the door switch but wouldnt retract when the engine was started. Replaced the fuse, bingo all ok again
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  6. pvw10

    pvw10

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    Gloucester
    Ratings:
    +45
    Cheers never would have looked under there but i will now :thumb:
     
  7. alan

    alan

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    545
    Location:
    skegness / spain
    Ratings:
    +531
    Step Problems

    On my autotrail there is a fuse under the bonnet on the left side looking from the front
    alan sorry I can see its sorted
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2013
  8. pvw10

    pvw10

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    Gloucester
    Ratings:
    +45
    Thanks Alan, best i go fuse hunting !
     
  9. FIDGET

    FIDGET Funster

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3,149
    Location:
    Isle of Wight
    Ratings:
    +7,258
    Hi, I've got an Autocruise , also had step problem it turned out it had blown a fuse in the Sargent control panel on the wall , Ihad it done under warrantee,Don't know if Autotrail use Sargent equipment if so ring clive at Sargent he's very helpful.
    Terry:sin:
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  10. pvw10

    pvw10

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    Gloucester
    Ratings:
    +45
    Thanks Terry, yes it has a Sargent so will check there also :thumb:
     
  11. Scout

    Scout Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,834
    Location:
    doncaster
    Ratings:
    +25,064
    have you got the wiring diagram? if not I can mail you a 2003 version

    look under the bonnet top left as you look at the screen for the fuses theres two or three (depending on modle) iirc one for the fidge one for the lesuire battery and the step or the one with the brown/green is for the step
     
  12. pvw10

    pvw10

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    Gloucester
    Ratings:
    +45
    Cheers for this i will have a look, looked earlier before your post and spotted a little 3 fuse, fuse holder with a plastic lid on fastened i think to the bottom of the battery tray ish, could that be it ?
     
  13. aba

    aba

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,791
    Location:
    yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,112
  14. pvw10

    pvw10

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    Gloucester
    Ratings:
    +45
    • Like it Like it x 1
  15. Scout

    Scout Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,834
    Location:
    doncaster
    Ratings:
    +25,064
    yep trhats it

    do you want the the wiring diagram?
     
  16. pvw10

    pvw10

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    Gloucester
    Ratings:
    +45
    Your a star i will pull them tomoz and check them out, thank you.

    Re the diagram thanks but no thanks, have enough trouble understanding the Sunday Sport never mind wiring :ROFLMAO:
     
  17. Scout

    Scout Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,834
    Location:
    doncaster
    Ratings:
    +25,064

    remember theres a relay as well, Im not sure were its located but it might be stuck/faulty if its not the fuse
     
  18. pvw10

    pvw10

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    Gloucester
    Ratings:
    +45
    Its worse than i thought, i put a meter on the cab battery and got 9v !!, turned on the 240v and no change aaaaarrrrgggggghhhh.

    So the step probably is fine just needs juice but now the Gardener 2005 looks to be dead. The fuse on it is fine so god knows.

    Checking the Gardener site they do a full fix for circa £70.00 so unless anybody has any ideas then i will go that route. In the meantime i will get the Cetek on the cab battery to get it charged and then see if the step works.

    It never rains....................
     
  19. pvw10

    pvw10

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    Gloucester
    Ratings:
    +45
    Cant find the edit for the above post, meant to say Sargent 2005 PSU.
     
  20. robnchris

    robnchris Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,448
    Location:
    Chester
    Ratings:
    +2,248
    auto-trail

    Hi, I notice that your door is just in front of the rear wheels, ours is the same and was surprised to find that there isn`t any protection for the step when retracted and your driving from the crap sprayed around from the rear wheel, the wiring, switch and step just get covered in what ever you drive through.

    Not Auto-trails best design feature,something I mentioned to deaf ears at the Birmingham show.

    I fitted a large mud flap in front of the rear wheels to protect step and wiring etc and it works a treat., maybe this idea will help others avoid non working and dirt covered steps.:thumb:
     

Share This Page