May 2, 2017
East Sussex
Funster No
MH
AutoTrail V Line 540
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi Folks,
Been thinking about ways to keep the chill off the inside of the MH during the winter months if it's not being used (hope to be able to make some winter trips) as I have the luxury of it being able to sit on the drive with mains hook up. A MH'ing friend has suggested a small oil filled radiator on a timer set to come on for a short period during the coldest nights....says it has also prevented problems with his boiler too (not sure what he meant by that but I'm guessing he means preventing it from dumping the water...sound right?
Does anyone have any experience of doing what I describe? Is it even necessary? Does anyone carry any of these rads as a supplemental heat source for winter camping when on hookup? If so, any recommendations ...brands, kW's etc?

We have a Truma Combi 6 boiler so maybe I could just set that on low since I have the opportunity to use cheap rate hookup?
Sorry about the "multi question" approach but you have all been so helpful in the past I know someone is going to have the answers! :)
Many thanks in anticipation of your help.

mikebeaches

LIFE MEMBER
Feb 22, 2010
Bristol
Funster No
MH
Rapido V68 Van Conversion
Exp
Since 2009
In the past we have used oil-filled electric radiators - in our previous coachbuilt - to keep the van heated when away in it. Worked extremely well. We had one rated at 600 watts and another rated at 1,000 watts, so we could use one or both dependent on electrical supply and how cold it was.

We generally drain down in winter and don't heat the van. Just put water in if we want to go away for a weekend or something, but it doesn't happen too often in the winter.