No 230v charging?

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by DAVWOD, May 25, 2014.

  1. DAVWOD

    DAVWOD Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +41
    Currently on Tour in Maastricht as a Newbie...l have had no problems until today (5 days) connecting elec hook up , connected today in my Burstner Nexo Family MH the plug in neon light on control panel lit up as normal , then l removed the cable for a few mommenrs to re adjust positioning of the van , plugged back in and the light had gone out... It took sometime to find the circuit breaker in wardrobe and found that the DC 240u was in an upward position and it was in a red above switch.. l have switched it down it shows green but .... Still no 230 v charge showing on control panel.? Any fellow funsters with suggestions .. l do have two habitation batteries as a back up (fitted by Dave Newell) some 6 weeks ago so l'm not totally without power but just bewildered..:Angry:
     
  2. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,255
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +23,587
    try pushing the trip switch all the way off then reseting it.

    Some breakers need to be pushed fully down first.
     
  3. DAVWOD

    DAVWOD Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +41
    Thanks pappajohn, l have re-set the trip switch still nothing... Just arrived onsite from Yrpes had no probs, again the light in control panel lit as if was all was ok then it has tripped the circuit breaker and since then nothing ?
    Thanks for your reply..
     
  4. Wickolad

    Wickolad Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Messages:
    482
    Location:
    Wickersley
    Ratings:
    +620
    Have you checked polarity of the supply, I know some sites have reverse polarity, it could possibly cause problems such as this dependent on your system. If you have a test meter this should confirm polarity.
    You also mention resetting RCB in wardrobe but is there one at the site hookup supply point?
    Sorry, don't wish to sound patronizing but just trying to think of all possibilities.
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2014
    • Like it Like it x 1
  5. DAVWOD

    DAVWOD Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +41
    No probs Wickolad, I'm a Newbie on my 2nd Tour 1st one was two days and this one measures out at 56 days.. :Eeek: all I know for now is that I'm in The Netherlands and have tried all I can on my 1st day here alas I haven't a test meter I will ask at reception am in morning many thanks it's not the end of the world :thumb:
     
  6. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    8,562
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +27,227
    I suspect, like above, that you have tripped the mains at the site post

    If there is another socket next to yours try that

    You might have to get the site to reset this though, sometimes they are left open

    Bit of a worry what tripped it though, you might have too much turned on, some sites can be very low Amps, so if you had water heater and kettle on together for example this might be too much

    Good luck
     
  7. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    19,129
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Ratings:
    +28,493
    Umm... The switch on the breaker would normally be UP and showing red ( for danger ) if showing green ( safe ) then it is switched off :Smile:
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  8. Wickolad

    Wickolad Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Messages:
    482
    Location:
    Wickersley
    Ratings:
    +620
    Jaws, you are absolutely right on that.........:thumb::thumb:

    Any update Davwod??? Hope you're sorted.
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2014
  9. DAVWOD

    DAVWOD Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +41
    Hi Gys , l am sorted thanks ..up and running and many thanks to the replys.. you were both correct red is in green off.. which threw me somewhat.. and its our Domestic Kettle that's the culprit....l will look into that when l return . At the momment crossed into Germany Netterheim , today off over towards Frankfurt.
    As a Newbie when yr out here and should anything crop up its so great to ask for advice on Motorhome fun..happy family.. regards to all.
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  10. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    8,562
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +27,227
    Glad you are sorted, enjoy rest of 'trip' :ROFLMAO:

    Seriously though, it would help if the mains units were fitted somewhere accessible, ours is sideways mounted in the bottom of the wardrobe, hardly any light to see what you are looking at let alone doing
     
Loading...

Share This Page