Free Member
Jan 19, 2017
Carmarthenshire,Ammanford
Funster No
MH
Low Profile
Exp
Hi Everyone,
Can some-one please advise on a good Sat Nat for a motorhome. I am a woman driver & can get myself out of most narrow lanes but would now like to purchase a good sat nav that is designed for larger vehicles. I have a 25ft length van Baileys which i assume is quite average but i don't fancy getting stuck somewhere. I know the Lorry sat navs are really expensive is there something like that for my motorhome that is reasonably priced. All advice is appreciated. Thank-you.

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Funster No
MH
A Woosh bang
There are plenty of cheap Chinese Truck sat navs on ebay.. and plenty of people use and swear by them them.. I tied one and just swore at it, found it was poor quality screen with glitchy software and updating maps wasn't easy.. if at all possible. Sent it back for a refund .. from around £30 up , just an example

I now have Garmin Camper. 660LMT-D , but it's not cheap.. around £300 .. I bought mine when it was on offer at Aldi for £185 .. look for deals on them. It's the best sat nav I have used.. highly recommend it.
https://buy.garmin.com/en-GB/GB/p/524489

Neckender

Free Member
Oct 15, 2007
Neckend or North Wales.
Funster No
MH
VW T6.1Kombi day Van
Exp
Since 2004
I too bought a cheap Chinese sat nav and it was absolute rubbish as it kept crashing and freezing up.
I now have the Garmin camper 660 and it’s been very good so far, now been using it 3 years without any problems.

John.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

GJH

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 20, 2007
Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
Funster No
MH
None, now sold
Exp
2006 to 2022
I like Garmin as well. The Chinese ones (and at least some of the similar ones sold by UK companies) contain pirate software and inaccurate map files (missing truck element).

My notes on sat nav experiences, plus a link to a comparison of different devices Here.

Apr 27, 2008
Eastbourne East Sussex