Hub Dynamo

Discussion in 'Solar Power' started by ShiftZZ, Apr 25, 2011.

  1. ShiftZZ

    ShiftZZ Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    20,058
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +42,835
    Is it possible to use a Hub Dynamo off a bike ( 6 volt, 3 watt), can this be used to provide any uselful power for a motorhome, when camped up?

    Just wondering

    ShiftZZ
     
  2. aba

    aba

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,791
    Location:
    yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,112
    hi if you had a couple of them and a couple of old fan blades then you got yourself a mini wind turbine
     
  3. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,255
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +23,585
    two of 'em in series should just about power a couple of LED lights.

    what would you drive it with ?
     
  4. tofo

    tofo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,775
    Location:
    Kirby cross further from londin
    Ratings:
    +8,125
    v8
     
  5. wivvy's dad

    wivvy's dad

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,218
    Location:
    48.066895,12.862673
    Ratings:
    +1,809

    'Er indoors




    :winky:
     
  6. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,255
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +23,585
    never thought of that !

    should be no problem with imposed loads from the hub but at around £12 an hour for fuel not very green :roflmto:
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  7. tofo

    tofo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,775
    Location:
    Kirby cross further from londin
    Ratings:
    +8,125
    V8 lpg !!!?
     
  8. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,255
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +23,585
    £7 per hour :roflmto:
     
  9. Douglas

    Douglas

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,837
    Location:
    South Wales,
    Ratings:
    +402
    It would be cheaper and more convenient to buy a couple of AA batteries!

    Doug...
     
  10. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    28,631
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Ratings:
    +34,248
    A hamster.
     
  11. mick noe

    mick noe Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    630
    Location:
    near Boston Lincolnshire
    Ratings:
    +603
    You would need a bloody long cable you could be miles away on that bike by the time the vans battery is recharged:Eeek::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  12. buttons

    buttons Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    15,880
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +16,422
  13. ShiftZZ

    ShiftZZ Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    20,058
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +42,835
    From what I am reading in the replies, the answer is no... Shame, I thought that if the wheel was spinning at a hefty rate then something valuable could be extracted..

    Back to the drawing board...
     
  14. DESCO

    DESCO

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,651
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +269
    Having just read this thread I thought you where trying to extract something, and it was not electricity.
     
  15. Terry

    Terry Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10,900
    Location:
    South yorks
    Ratings:
    +7,042
    How are you going to spin the dynamo whilst parked up ?:ROFLMAO::Eeek:
    terry
     

Share This Page