Haggling Is It A Waste Of Time! (1 Viewer)

flfair

Free Member
May 3, 2021
North East
Funster No
MH
Burstner
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi All

New to this forum but have been following for a while, we have paid a holding payment for a 2018 Burstner 690 which will be available this month to view, this will be our first motorhome if we buy it.

With all that is going on at the moment will we be wasting our time trying to haggle on the price, we would like to pay a couple of grand less than the asking price? this model is also hard to find secondhand at the moment so we cannot walk away and go and look at others.

We also have not got time to wait till things go the other way, we both have just turned 70 with a few health problem. We have hired motorhomes in the past so it is not a new venture.
Thanks

Aug 25, 2016
Taynuilt, UK
Funster No
MH
Hymer 655 Starline
Exp
Village idiot
I always haggle but they way things are at the moment with vans another person will be along to view the van if you don’t want it. Try asking for for some extras as it’s your first van. It’s amazing what you will need if your new to motorhome fun. Good luck and enjoy your van if you take it.

Jim

Ringleader
Jul 19, 2007
Sutton on Sea, UK
Funster No
MH
Adria Panel Van.
Exp
Since 1988
Yes, a couple of grand is reasonable. But haggle, haggle haggle. No matter their protestation about how its a sellers market etc. Lots of people don't want to offend, but remember the salesperson will think you are a complete fool if you dont at least try.

Apr 30, 2021
Funster No
MH
Auto-Trail Apache
In the throws of buying a van at the moment circa £40K. Very limited choice with dealers virtually running out of vans to sell. With popular models don't think there's any haggling to be done, the market is so buoyant. I guess private is always more likely because sellers may not want the hassle associated with multiple viewers.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Sapper520

Free Member
Jan 22, 2020
North Somerset