domestic tv

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by scally, Dec 27, 2011.

  1. scally

    scally Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    623
    Location:
    essex and lincolnshire
    Ratings:
    +2,944
    I bought Carol a new led tv for xmas. worked perfectly for two days then the remote would not work, just like that.

    Took it back they replaced it with a ferguson 2408 lvd3 I paid a bit more, got it home and guess what remote didn't work any distance more than 2" away (50m/m for you young ones)

    Took this one back and they waffled about angles and broadband interference etc but changed it for another new one with the proviso that thay would not change it again. I wanted them to try it in the shopfirst but they claimed they were to busy. so I took it home and yet again zapper would only work close to and spasmodically.

    Tried moving the tv and all different angles but with no better success.

    Her old one (an old big tube jobby) worked well for 4 years in the same position but some of the well used buttons had given up

    Has anyone any ideas bfore I take it back and wrap it round their necks..:Angry::Angry::Angry:

    Martin
     
  2. bmb1uk

    bmb1uk Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    256
    Location:
    LEICS
    Ratings:
    +145
    sorry no ideas, start the new year off well ,wrap it round their necks hehe :ROFLMAO:
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  3. haganap

    haganap Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    11,261
    Location:
    Heavan
    Ratings:
    +15,050
    wierd one that interested me.
    Got to be something other than the actual TV's 1 yes, 2 broke? possibly, 3? miracle.

    saw this

    Try this: hold the remote control close to an 'AM' radio and press one of the buttons. If the remote is working, you should hear a low level 'thup, thup, thup' coming from the radio.

    keep us informed.
     
  4. RubyVan

    RubyVan Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Market Harborough Leics
    Ratings:
    +0
    Our TV packed uo the ghost on Christmas Eve - serfed the internet and bought a new one from John Lewis. Just received Email to say its on its way- Hope we have better luck than your experience . In meantime found INBOX on computer which give live access to TV, second best but lets us keep up todate with News
     
  5. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,091
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +23,123
    cant see how infra-red can affect a radio but another, more accurate, way to check remote functionality....if you have a camera on your mobile phone or a digital camera then turn it on and point at the remotes IR transmitter (little bulb to you :winky:) then operate the remote.

    you will see the 'bulb' flashing in your camera/screen.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  6. aba

    aba Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,791
    Location:
    yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,112
    you could always try the new tv in a different room or even the motorhome that will then tell you if it is the tv's or something in the room causing interference
     
  7. jhorsf

    jhorsf Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,155
    Location:
    DERBYSHIRE
    Ratings:
    +8,078
    This may sound really silly but you do not have curtains or something obstructing the little window on the tv now this one is bigger? do not ask how I know:Doh:
     
  8. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    28,550
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Ratings:
    +33,905
    Got to be your place not the TVs.

    Take the TV as far from that room as possible and try again. In a MH would be good.
     
  9. Douglas

    Douglas Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,837
    Location:
    South Wales,
    Ratings:
    +402
    I don't think its the infra-red that is being effected, if in fact the remote is being effected at all.

    It is possible though that the oscillator that will be present in a radio and the oscillator that will be in the remote (to control the frequency of the infra-red signal) are being effect if they are close together. Possible but I have never heard of it before.

    Doug...
     
  10. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,091
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +23,123
    thanks for the explanation Doug :thumb:
     
  11. RKE

    RKE Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +82
    I know you will think I'm taking the p**............but are you sure you're holding the remote the right way around! ...:winky:
     
  12. brodie

    brodie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    413
    Location:
    South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +142
    Have you changed the batteries for a brand new set? The ones they give you are usually cheap ones just to put you on for a bit.

    From experience with kids toys etc sometimes they only have enough juice to power on then give it up! :Smile:
     
  13. jonandshell

    jonandshell Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,402
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +9,158
    Have you removed the clear protective film they tend to put over shiny plastic bits as part of the packaging?
    That might be over the IR receiver causing reduced range!?:whatthe:
     
  14. Johno

    Johno Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +38
    Never heard of testing a remote control using a radio so I tried it out with my faithful old Roberts Radio tuned to AM/MW and it works::bigsmile: produced a soft trilling noise bit like a cricket.

    You learn something every day even at my age:thumb:

    John.
     
  15. estcres

    estcres Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,301
    Location:
    Sunny Bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +766
    Have you tried using the remote from your old TV.

    Most Remotes work on the same frequency and carry out the same functions so might be worth a try.
     
  16. motorhomelover

    motorhomelover Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,719
    Location:
    The world
    Ratings:
    +616
    easy take it back get a refund and go to a shop where they give you some service
     
  17. scally

    scally Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    623
    Location:
    essex and lincolnshire
    Ratings:
    +2,944
    thanks for the replys peeps:thumb::thumb::thumb:
    I had tried them all except moving it to another room.:Doh::Doh::Doh:

    this I did and low and behold it worked::bigsmile:::bigsmile:::bigsmile:

    moved it back to where I wanted it and low and behold it now works well:roflmto::roflmto::roflmto: cant explain it just live with it I say martin
     
  18. RKE

    RKE Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +82
    May 'The Force' stay with you! ::bigsmile:
     
  19. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    28,550
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Ratings:
    +33,905
    Weird !
     
Loading...

Share This Page