Charging an electric bike when off grid (1 Viewer)

bobnwend

Free Member
May 12, 2021
Surrey, UK
Funster No
MH
Carthago compact
Exp
I’m a newbie and I apologise if this has been asked before but can you charge two electric bikes when you are off grid or should we always plan to be on hookup to charge them? I have a 150 W solar panel, one leisure battery and no inverter at the moment.

As far as I can understand from my research a 4amp bike charger would drain a 100Ah leisure battery with a 1kw inverter in an hour and the Bosch battery in the bike requires 4.5 hours to charge fully, so can you help me with this please?

Dec 24, 2014
Hurstpierpoint. Mid Sussex.
Funster No
MH
Compass Navigator
Exp
Ever since lighting was by Calor gas.
Well yes, it has been asked many times. If you put e bike charging into the Search box (top right of this page) you'll get many threads and chapter and verse on solar, inverters, battery capacity.........but if you can't I'm sure folk will reply all over again to your post.
(My reply is purely intended to be helpful to you now and maybe as somewhere to start for answers to your future questions).

Here's just one of the many threads...........

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 2

Pablotti

Free Member
Feb 25, 2021
Devon 🇬🇧
Funster No
MH
2020 AS Fairford
We charged our ebikes off grid without any issues. Our set up was a 1000w inverter, 215w solar panel, and 160ah of battery power. We only did it on sunny days to ensure we could easily top back up, and had enough power for everything else

Upvote 2
Apr 27, 2016
Manchester
Funster No
MH
A class Hymer
Exp
Since the 80s
As far as I can understand from my research a 4amp bike charger would drain a 100Ah leisure battery with a 1kw inverter in an hour and the Bosch battery in the bike requires 4.5 hours to charge fully, so can you help me with this please?