Can you insure a motorhome in storage if you don't have a driver's liscence? (1 Viewer)

grumblebee

Free Member
Oct 19, 2019
Funster No
MH
Lorry conversion 7.5
Exp
Hello all, I'm a newbie here!
I have a bit of an unusual situation and could do with some advice.

I've just purchased a lovely truck motorhome conversion. Due to desperate times myself and a friend will be moving into it and living in it full time in about 6 months time. We can't do so at the moment as neither of us possess driver's licences due to health problems. My friend will be able to learn to drive in a few months time and after that will get the required HGV licence (it's 7.5 tonne).

Until that point the truck/motorhome will need to be kept in storage. I've found a very secure place (CASSOA gold) locally about 30 minutes drive from where I live. The previous owner is kindly offering to drive it there for us where it will stay until my friend qualifies to drive it. The storage is super secure - a farm with a secure building with metal roller shutters, CCTV, two families on site at all times with dogs and guns. The storage site operator is the only one allowed to drive a vehicle in or out of the storage building and if they damage your vehicle in the process, they cover the cost. So, I'm not worried about my future home being stolen or accidentally damaged in this way. What I am concerned about is if there were a fire and the whole place burned down or there was some other similar event that caused damage/destruction in some unforseen way.