Camping and caravanning club - charge per person? (1 Viewer)

Oct 30, 2016
Colchester
Funster No
MH
Le voyageur 8.5
Exp
On 3rd van so not a total newbie....
Just having a look to book up somewhere for after easter, initially prices look reasonable, but they are for 1 person, for 2 it is double!

Why double, we still only use 1 pitch?

I can understand if they charge per pitch then per person on top, but this makes no sense at all, I think in future we will just make 2 separate bookings and take 2 pitches!

hja

May 8, 2020
Lincolnshire
Funster No
MH
Globecar Summit Prim
Exp
Since 2019
Both the ccc and CAMC charge per person. They both show minimum charges which are for one person. Usual marketing ploy. People who camp solo correctly says this makes the pitches much cheaper than some other sites which charge per pitch including a certain number of people. I am not sure the price doubles with an extra person, however.

Feb 14, 2021
Milton Keynes, UK
Funster No
MH
Burstner Lyseo 727G
Exp
19 month year 18000 miles UK, Ireland, France, Spain, Germany, Italy. Campsites and off Grid.
It's not double.

I have just done a test and for Cambridge its £22.60 for one person and £35.90 for 2 people.

Seems fair. An amount for the pitch and an amount for each person. Having 2 pitches would not save you money. it would cost £45.20!

May 7, 2016
West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Carthago Compactline
Exp
Since 2003
At one stage I travelled solo and now as a couple. I continue to think it is fair to include a per person charge on top of the pitch charge. Greater use of showers, toilets, chemical disposal (often not mains drainage), water etc. Travelling solo is more expensive, no one to share the fuel and parking costs for a start, so recognition that one person uses the facilities less than a couple is very welcome.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Feb 19, 2018
EAST ANGLIA
Funster No
MH
Murvi Morello
Exp
Since 1975