Alde or Truma ? (1 Viewer)

May 17, 2015
South Yorkshire
Funster No
MH
Bailey Alliance SE
Exp
I am a Newbie
I am looking to purchase my first motorhome, and have found two vehicles with more or less the same layout that suits my requirements. However one uses the Alde heating, the other has Truma heating. I know they are different systems, but would welcome advice as to which is the better and more efficient of the two systems.
Thanks in advance.

Jun 30, 2011
Barnard Castle, UK
Funster No
MH
Concorde Concerto
Exp
Since 2007
I was all for Truma until I tried a van with Alde now I'm all Alde, so is the wife
Much nicer heat, no cold spots, even heat, warmer. Water heats quicker.

We do have a separate Truma Heater for the front which was an optional extra but Alde all the way. Only downside is Alde takes longer to warm up and it's best to start it on gas to initially get going, if it's cold I just bang the instant Truma on until the Alde system warms up.

Last edited:

Two on Tour

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 16, 2016
Near the junction of the A14 and A1, Cambs
Funster No
MH
Elddis Autoquest 175
Exp
Since 2010
Our first van had a Truma gas fire with a heat exchanger on the back and a fan to blast additional hot air out of various points around the van and it was lovely and toasty, but our next van and our present van just has a blown hot air system and on colder days and nights it's not up to the job.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

DuxDeluxe

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 10, 2008
Planet Zog
Funster No
MH
A woosh bang van
Exp
since 2008
Alde every time - far superior system. Boost on gas to warmup and then electric to keep warm if on hook up. Mine has a heater exchanger with the engine coolant as well so the van arrives toasty after a journey

Bluemooner

LIFE MEMBER
Mar 30, 2012
Ribble Valley
Funster No
MH
Dreamseeker Fifth Wheel
Exp
4 years
We have Truma which is ok but if i had a choice i would pick Alde

Sep 29, 2019
Funster No
MH
Hymer Exsis
Exp
20 years