Do you offer your motorhome out for hire? (3 Viewers)

Aug 19, 2020
Wolverhampton
Funster No
MH
Mooveo C6
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi all, I am thinking of offering my Mooveo out to rent to friends and family and wondered if any of you currently do this could share your experiences.
I am not sure how keen I'd be to let strangers come along and drive it away, but I guess if you make it over 35yr olds with clean license and leave a hefty deposit, would I be asking for trouble?

If any of you currently do rent your van out, how do you go about insurance etc? Do you use an agency? What happens when it comes back with a broken drawer handle or cupboard door?

Dec 24, 2014
Hurstpierpoint. Mid Sussex.
Funster No
MH
Compass Navigator
Exp
Ever since lighting was by Calor gas.
Often asked question and many replies if you use the Search facility (Spyglass top right of this page).

(Link to previous post post deleted as my reply crossed with the same one posted by Tombola )

Comfort Insurance will cover for hiring out. A quote might make you change your mind ;) .

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Dec 24, 2014
Hurstpierpoint. Mid Sussex.
Funster No
MH
Compass Navigator
Exp
Ever since lighting was by Calor gas.
What happens when it comes back with a broken drawer handle or cupboard door?

Hmm, those are nothing; far worse issues are more likely (e.g. putting diesel fuel in the fresh water tank isn't uncommon) , then you'll have a very difficult conversation with the next hirer on their way to you.

Upvote 0
May 7, 2016
West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Carthago Compactline
Exp
Since 2003
No. I did lend one of my old motorhomes to my daughter once but I drove it both ways for her. There was no hiring involved. The moment hiring and money is involved you are on very dodgy ground, all sorts of liabilities and insurance implications.

Upvote 0

mikebeaches

LIFE MEMBER
Feb 22, 2010
Bristol
Funster No
MH
Rapido V68 Van Conversion
Exp
Since 2009
Sorry, but another 'No' from me too.