Your motorhomes insurance and your no claims discount (1 Viewer)

Affiliate links here may earn MHF compensation

forestfern

Free Member
Jun 11, 2022
New Forest, United Kingdom
Funster No
MH
dont own one yet
Evening all! Having found and paid a deposit on our dream motorhome at last, I rang LV about insurance. Hubby and I both have 9+ years of no claims discount but apparently this doesn’t count and the motorhome insurance will start with 0 years.

Just checking if this is standard? Thank you

Silver-Fox

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 5, 2014
Cheltenham Spa
Funster No
MH
Rapido
Exp
im a not so newbie
No it’s not.

Lots of insurance companies mirror your ncb but you don’t build ncb on the Moho.

I’d try a different company or two 😊

Upvote 0
Dec 24, 2014
Hurstpierpoint. Mid Sussex.
Funster No
MH
Compass Navigator
Exp
Ever since lighting was by Calor gas.
I believe you can only apply an NCB to one vehicle at a time.
Did you get quotes from other insurers, e.g. NFU and Comfort among several others if you look in the 'Insurance' forum.

Upvote 0
Jul 20, 2018
Bridport Dorset
Funster No
MH
Swift Kontiki 655
Exp
Trailer tent for 10 years Motorhome since 2018
I think you can only claim NCD on one policy, however it may change if you do a multi vehicle policy. In my case I insured the Moho with my NCD and put my wife as a named driver and she insured the car with me as a named driver.

Upvote 0
Feb 14, 2021
Milton Keynes, UK
Funster No
MH
Burstner Lyseo 727G
Exp
19 month year 18000 miles UK, Ireland, France, Spain, Germany, Italy. Campsites and off Grid.
I found LV didn't have a clue - about anything. Go to a proper motorhome insurer like https://www.comfort-insurance.co.uk

As said - they don't give no claims as such but decent companies will mirror your current no claims

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0
Jan 1, 2019
Pembrokeshire
Funster No
MH
Hymer B704 PL
Exp
Since 2017