Using the Habitation Heater Whilst Driving (1 Viewer)

Affiliate links here may earn MHF compensation

15Degrees

Free Member
Dec 15, 2018
Corby
Funster No
MH
Burstner Argos 747-2
Exp
I'm a Newbie
Hi Guys

I am off to Austria Snowboarding on Jan 2nd and this made me think about the temps. It will be cold down there, very. In my manual (Burstner Argos) It says not to use the heating whilst driving along. I have done this before though after forgetting to switch it off.

What is the logical the reason for not using it whilst driving? I mean ships have gas going all the time and move around a lot more than we do. What am I missing? On lovely French and German roads the rig will be quite stable.

If the flame went out then the system auto shuts it off anyways right?

Cheers
Mark.

Mar 23, 2012
sleights
Funster No
MH
c class
Exp
I think you are supposed to fit a regulator with an electric shut off if theres an accident not a problem for us ours runs on diesel so ok to use on the move!
By the way have a good trip we are off to Les Arcs on the 12th but on a package (£550 each flights transfers half board free wine couldn't see how it would be any cheaper in the m/h for 2 and difficult to fit the other 8 people going in!!!!!!!!)

Last edited:

MillieMoocher

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 18, 2015
West Yorkshire
Funster No
MH
Autosleeper Kingham
Exp
40 years under canvas: Motorhome 2016 To 2020
We run ours when travelling, not a problem. We have the crash cut off thing fitted. Just have to remember to stop before a refuel to turn it off, then stop at garage, fill up, then stop again to put heating back on.

This might or might not be necessary, but in my mind ther must be a flame somewhere and so I err on the side of caution!

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Apr 14, 2008
Cromer norfolk
Funster No
MH
Bailey approach 745
Exp
since 2002