Tv & satellite

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by Petew, Dec 25, 2013.

  1. Petew

    Petew Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    72
    Ratings:
    +30
    Just arrived in Portugal. Tried tuning in my Avtex TV. I can get sound only and I am getting the message INVAID FORMAT.
    Any suggestions on how to get a picture?
     
  2. andyman

    andyman Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,243
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +708
    I assume we are talking satellite tv. What dish are you using self seeking or manual. Can you check signal strength and quality.
    May you are just to far south now the beam has moved.
     
  3. Petew

    Petew Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    72
    Ratings:
    +30
    Tv & satallite

    No, I do not have a satallite dish. I am trying to tune in to the digital signal
     
  4. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    8,702
    Location:
    Dorset
    Ratings:
    +14,468
    the tv broadcast standards vary from country to country. is your tv compatible with the standard in Portugal Pal I or just uk Pal B/G?

    if you can hear the sound but get a message that the signal is in the wrong format, then maybe not. it may be available in the settings menu, but not knowing and tinkering will potentially leave you in a worse position
     
  5. sdc77

    sdc77 Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,847
    Location:
    Weardale, Co Durham
    Ratings:
    +4,052
    Invalid format is normaly associated with file types..
    Check that you have nothing in the DVD drive...
     
  6. DBK

    DBK Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    10,434
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    Ratings:
    +22,176
  7. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6,207
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    Ratings:
    +11,442
    Just as a matter of interest with digital transmissions, the old problem of sound issues and anything related to do with
    PAL I - B/G or Secam

    No longer exists..... This was only relevant to analogue signals..

    You may come across it on some campsites where they have an analogue TV distribution system and you plug into a TV point on the pitch. A further complication is that some TV's now dont have any analogue tuners, just digital. I know "I was that man" with a new TV and not able to watch corrie.... :Doh:
     
  8. canopus

    canopus Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,578
    Location:
    rural Lincolnshire
    Ratings:
    +4,862

    Steve
    Corrie was utter boloney last night. I think the scriptwriters just pad out the current story lines to fill two episodes.
    Snowmen and snowball fights in the street - bah humbug :ROFLMAO:
     
  9. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6,207
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    Ratings:
    +11,442

    ::bigsmile: That bit was meant to be a joke.... Tv has never been the same since Crossroads went off air.. :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:
     
Loading...

Share This Page