Terrible unusable Fiat Ducato speedo design

Discussion in 'Fiat' started by marc4242, Jun 26, 2018.

  1. tkk

    tkk Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2014
    Messages:
    40
    Location:
    notts
    Ratings:
    +8
    Hi,
    sorry, late into thread. Have recently bought 2019 Frankia, Fiat based KPH dial, terrible visibility of speedo dial at night, hardly seems illuminated atall. What was the fix?
    Ta
    Tk
     
  2. Stewart J

    Stewart J Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    SW Northumberland
    Ratings:
    +2,699
    The Fiat garage will alter the instrument clustered light so it is on permanently when engine is running instead of only when headlights are switched on, its a free fix taking minutes apparently. It makes a little difference but not in bright conditions.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. two

    two Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,083
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +3,220
    The upgrade is free because that's what it's worth.
    It makes little difference.
     
  4. GPW

    GPW Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2019
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    Cambridge UK
    Ratings:
    +290
    I noticed this in adjustable height seats. They sell it as a feature but I found even on the lowest setting it still added enough height to be incredibly annoying, especially if you have remis blinds as the top cover robs another inch of visible screen height. No use driving to nice places if you can't look 'up' at all!!

    So ironically the cheaper 'swivel only' and fixed seats were much more usable for me.
     
  5. Deneb

    Deneb Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    Messages:
    487
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +680
    Should be default behaviour on a 2018/19 chassis. It was introduced into production shortly after being made available as an update on older vans.

    @tkk have you tried adjusting the illumination level? There should be eight levels available, either through the mode button menu or the radio menu depending on the type of radio fitted. Some settings are only available with ignition on and engine off, and vice versa.
     
  6. tkk

    tkk Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2014
    Messages:
    40
    Location:
    notts
    Ratings:
    +8
    Ta, Ill try that, didn’t find it on brief play with mode before but will look again, its an alpine sat/nav/radio so probably not thro that.
     
  7. tkk

    tkk Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2014
    Messages:
    40
    Location:
    notts
    Ratings:
    +8
    Ta, Ill try that, didn’t find it on brief play with mode before but will look again, its an alpine sat/nav/radio so probably not thro that.
     
  8. Steve N Tracy

    Steve N Tracy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    Messages:
    590
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +1,760

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice