Solar panel or second leisure battery, which first? (1 Viewer)

Mar 23, 2017
Chudleigh, Devon
Funster No
MH
Compass Avantgarde 2
Exp
Im a newbie
Being new to MH life, we are starting to get a feel for what we like and want to do in the future.

We like 3 or 4 nights wilding then a campsite stop for a proper shower and crucially to get EHU. In the future we would likd to do longer 'wild' trips

But for now, thinking of ways to extend the leisure battery, i seem to have 2 options;

100w solar panel - been quoted about £500 fitted.

second leisure battery, about £100 to buy but not sure what is involved in fitting?

So it would seem i can double my wild camping time between EHU sites with 2 batteries for much less than the cost of solar power fitted. Apart from the 'free' and potentially limitless supply of solar power what else should i be considering before deciding which to do?

Thanks

P.s. the answer "do both" won't help :)

TheBig1

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2011
Dorset
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
many many years! since I was a kid
second leisure battery could be £50 plus about £15 in connectors and wires easy to do DIY. only takes 1/2 hour on most vans

solar panel about £200 in parts, can be done DIY but slightly harder and many people dont like drilling through the roof. But £500 to supply and fit a 100w solar panel is way ott. 1 1/2 hours labour

second battery first then see if you need solar alter

Feb 27, 2011
UK
Funster No
MH
Self Build
Exp
Since 2005
Battery 1st would be my suggestion if you just want to extend how long between EHU in a consistent manner. This will extend your off EHU time no matter what the weather.

Both would be the ideal option.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Jul 18, 2009
Manchester UK + Javea/Xabia Spain + Abu Dhabi
Funster No
MH
HYMER B644
Exp
Battery first.

You will not get much from a solar panel in the uk even in summer.

I do all my own work, even if I say so myself, better than many installers.