Solar panel I am set up right (1 Viewer)

Sep 5, 2020
Durham, UK
Funster No
MH
Swift Bolero 714SB
Exp
Since 2018
Hi can anybody help again, I am looking at my EC400 unit, I have set the select to Engine battery and left the box switched on, with charger switch pushed in, it as not been charging off the solar panel, please be gentle I am a novice (ps solar panel fitted in June by garage)
Cheers
Jeff

tonka

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 2, 2008
Cannock, Staffs
Funster No
MH
A class Burstner 800
Exp
Since 2000
It could be a case that at this time of year just not enough power from the solar,,
If any help you can get the manual here

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Aug 4, 2019
North East Riviera
Funster No
MH
Low profile
Exp
Enough to Survive
Could it be that the installer connected the solar panel directly to the hab battery and not through the EC400, so is only capable of charging the leisure battery?

That would be quite common as it’s often easier for them and they don’t have to know the ins and outs of various control panels and systems.

If that’s the case it may be easier to just add a Battery Master or CBE CSB 2 type trickle charging unit to charge both batteries from solar....when there’s enough sun.

Aug 4, 2019
North East Riviera
Funster No
MH
Low profile
Exp
Enough to Survive
Thanks again, might be red hot tomorrow and problem solved 🤪
Not if your solar is not connected to the cab (engine) battery. 😱

I would ask the installer how they installed it and what it’s connected to.

Sep 23, 2013
Lincs
Funster No
MH
Globecar Campscout
Exp
Since 2008 (started in a VW T4 campervan)
The EC400 should have the 'Smart Charging' system, which should, so long as the unit is left switched on, direct both EHU & solar charge to whichever battery needs it.