Free Member
Nov 9, 2020
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi gang!

I'm looking to buy my first camper. Going into my 3rd year of university next year and was wondering about the legality around potentially parking a camper in friends driveways and living like that to avoid rent?

Appreciate any knowledge - am completely new to this!

Sep 3, 2012
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
C Class Elddis 175
Exp
8+ years
Hi gang!

I'm looking to buy my first camper. Going into my 3rd year of university next year and was wondering about the legality around potentially parking a camper in friends driveways and living like that to avoid rent?

If it was parked up and you weren't intending to use it on the road, you could sorn it also. (y)

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0
OP
OP
VANpelt

VANpelt

Free Member
Nov 9, 2020
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
I lived in my mums driveway for 9 months

No issues ...van , insurance and licence are registered there
Would the van being insured to my (family) home be an issue? i.e. not the home it is parked outside while at university

Upvote 0
OP
OP
VANpelt

VANpelt

Free Member
Nov 9, 2020
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
If it was parked up and you weren't intending to use it on the road, you could sorn it also. (y)
I likely would still drive around in it during holidays to go on trips with friends and go back home.

Upvote 0

Pugsy

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 3, 2018
D&G
Funster No
MH
Van conversion
Exp
Since 2012
lived on my sister's driveway for 5 months this summer ,before heading of to Spain. No issues and no problems, good luck and welcome. just let your insurance know that you will be parking it there, my van is registered at another address and the insurance were fine with it being parked long term at my sister's.

Upvote 0
OP
OP
VANpelt

VANpelt

Free Member
Nov 9, 2020
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie