Sewing machine recommendations for the MH please :) (1 Viewer)

Carolinej

Free Member
Jun 2, 2015
Wales
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet.
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hello everyone :) It's about a year now till we take the plunge and get our motorhome. One of the things I want to take with us is a sewing machine . I was wondering if anyone can recommend a machine that is fairly lightweight and also as quiet as possible for a sewing machine. I would imagine it will drive the other half up the wall in a small space if it sounds like the one I have now, a bit like a tractor lol Thanks :)

Campervan_man

Free Member
Jun 24, 2019
Funster No
MH
Dethleffs Globebus
Exp

Riverbankannie

LIFE MEMBER
Mar 11, 2016
Bristol
Funster No
MH
IH 630 RL PVC
Exp
I find ALDI products reasonable quality for the price. This one is described as compact with mains or battery power. The online buying is good with tracked parcel delivery.

Broken Link Removed

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Chrysalis

LIFE MEMBER
Jun 16, 2016
Herts
Funster No
MH
Rapido 890F A Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
Chrysalis / Mr Chrysalis your dept I believe.
There are so many on the market to choose from but I would avoid anything described as ā€˜miniā€™ or ā€˜portableā€™ as these are no more than toys IMO.

I would be looking for something like a Janome Gem which is fairly lightweight but is a perfectly capable machine. Several of the large brands have what they describe as lightweight machines. AFAIK Hobbycraft and John Lewis branded machines are actually made by Janome.

Southdowners

Free Member
May 7, 2015
West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Concorde Charisma
Exp
Since May 2015
I love old sewing machines and have a couple of Bernina ones but theyā€™d be a bit on the heavy side for what you want perhaps. If you like something solid you might like a Singer Featherweight 221. Theyā€™re old but stitch very well.

denisejoe

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 6, 2014
Warden isle of sheppy
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
Since 2004