Nov 1, 2021
Lanarkshire, Scotland
Funster No
MH
Burstner IXEO Time
Exp
Complete newbie
I sold my Garmin Camper LMT D 760

Now only use Google maps on 8 in Lenovo GPS tablet .. tethered to the phone for data ..

you can download Google maps for the area you are travelling and use without data , but you don't have the excellent live traffic updates and re routing ,so I don't bother.
This may be a stupid question but if your phone loses its signal when you are driving then I presume that google maps won't update with the possibility of missing turn offs etc.

Apr 26, 2015
Ottershaw
Funster No
MH
Hymer S820
Exp
First motorhome May 2021
This may be a stupid question but if your phone loses its signal when you are driving then I presume that google maps won't update with the possibility of missing turn offs etc.
It's possible to download areas of google maps in advance to work offline should you loose your data connection.

Jan 26, 2017
Mid Suffolk.
Funster No
MH
Autosleeper Inca
Exp
Eight Years and 28,000 Miles.
Just been looking at this! But as far as I can see, you need something running either MAC or Windows, which I don't possess. Would be delighted if anyone knows a way to transfer S4S onto a Garmin without...
I don't think this is possible.

You have to download a file then install it to your satnav unit, how do you update your satnav without a PC?

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Funster No
MH
A Woosh bang
I've used Google Maps on many trips abroad.. and it's never been an issue.. but if you were venturing somewhere where the mobile signal may be weak or non existent, as pointed out by ChrisL and as I said in my last post .. you can download the map for that area ...

you can download Google maps for the area you are travelling and use without data , but you don't have the excellent live traffic updates and re routing ,so I don't bother.