Recommendations on who should I get to install refillable LPG and oven install and what will it cost? (1 Viewer)

Oct 11, 2019
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Converting a Van
Exp
I'm a Total Newbie!
I've been thinking about about getting a gas system installed lately.

I only want to be able to cook with gas. I'm not at all interested in hot water. I'm also not interested in heating systems with gas because I use a diesel heater and you can buy diesel anywhere. If I ever decide I want hot water system I will look into getting a diesel powered truma combi boiler or copy. (If I had the money I'd fit one of those myself tomorrow!)

I have a very healthy fear of gas. This is perhaps the only part of the build I have absolutely no inclination to attempt myself whatsoever.

All I want is some form of refillable LPG tank (underslung might be nice to save space but I don't really mind inside a gas locker in the van either) and it fitting to an oven.

Before getting quotes myself I wondered if any funsters would like to share with me their experiences of having a gas system installed. What system did you have fitted, by who, how much was it, and would you recommend your fitter?

Sep 29, 2019
Funster No
MH
Hymer Exsis
Exp
20 years
Cooking in my experience uses very little gas, are you sure it will be worth the outlay?

We can be off grid for two weeks in the summer, using gas for the fridge and hot water and still use only about 10KG. Cooking only, I would estimate 2KG a week maximum being generous.

Flogas might be much cheaper?

Edited to say, a safe fill bottle is very simple and can be filled away from van if needed. I had one in my caravan and found it great! No installation needed from standard fit.

Cheshirecat57

Free Member
Feb 3, 2018
Mid Cheshire
Funster No
MH
None
Exp
10 years on and off