Pros and cons for having new PVC ceramic coated (1 Viewer)

May 14, 2021
East Yorkshire, UK
Funster No
MH
ADRIA Twin 640SLB
Exp
Since 2012
I have no personal knowledge of ceramic coatings but my current car had Autoglym Lifetime Shine, which I believe is a carbon fibre coating and lesser quality than ceramic, applied at new. I’ve reasesrched as best I can on here but no real answers to my question.

Can anyone offer their experience or knowledge to help me decide please?

I am considering having Matrix Black ceramic coating from Autosmart, who I’ve read on here are a highly regarded supplier of valeting products, applied professionally. It is supposedly good for 8 years & we would likely still have the van longer than that 😊

May 21, 2008
Oxford
Funster No
MH
WildAx Constellation
Exp
Since 2008
I had my previous cabr which was second hand and which I had for oveer 19 year treated with Diamondbrite. I don't know what it is but was so impressed that I have had my present car done too.!

Jul 28, 2021
British South West Somerset
Funster No
MH
Rapido Dreamer PVC
Exp
Minimal
I reckon it's Snake Oil! I had a ceramic coating allegedly applied to my Volvo from new with a little sticker in the window as confirmation. I can't say I have noticed any benefit quite honestly. I compare it to Teflon coatings on frying pans which are suppposed to be guaranteed for 10 years! Perhaps if you didn't use them to fry in!(n) It's easy to fool yourself when you have payed good money.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Silver-Fox

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 5, 2014
Cheltenham Spa
Funster No
MH
Rapido
Exp
im a not so newbie
In my opinion if the vehicle isn’t prepared correctly including paint correction you’d be waisting your money.

A lot of main dealers sell what they call coatings using materials that cost a few quid and are a waist of time.

Quality coatings arnt cheap and generally need to be applied indoors and left over night.