Power of Attorney and international application. (1 Viewer)

Oct 12, 2009
SW London, Poland and all Europe
Funster No
MH
A Class N+B Arto 69GL
Exp
Since 2009
This thread is aimed at tapping Members' experience of dealing with Power of Attorney(POA) and Lasting Power of Attorney(LPA)

I raise this topic on this forum because I know we have Members in other jurisdictions than UK, also Members who are in relationships in which partners ar Citizens of different States.

Many of you will know that i am a lawyer but my knowledge of Wills and Trusts is from 40 years ago and has not been updated.

This subject has arisen from a thread on here entitled 'Growing old is no fun'

Powers of Attorney can be granted for many purposes but I want to focus on ones granted to cover an older persons ability to make decisions on their own behalf in situations where the person loses the mental capacity to do so and needs the 'Attorney' to make those decisions.

In this respect I think that the two most important POAs are Financial POA and ones giving POA for Health and Welfare decisions. I will therefore split this into two separate discussions.

Financial POA

The international aspects of this for most people are quite simple, if all the assets are in one country, in that it is probably best to make the POA under the law of that country.

It might be more difficult if the assets are in two or more countries, in which case it may prove a problem of enforcing the application of a POA made under the law of one country in another jurisdiction, unless it is replicated there.

Health and Welfare POA

Here I need to split this discussion into two halves, covering A) where the parties are Citizens of different countries and B) where both parties are travelling but not in a county where the POA was executed.