PDA's and GPS and my own maps/images

Discussion in 'Computers' started by johng, Nov 18, 2009.

  1. johng

    johng

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    588
    Location:
    Kent/Sussex UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    all, does anyone know of free software to run on my IPAQ 3970 (PocketPC 2003) - that will allow me to use georeferenced geotiffs I have access to, and also will allow my remote blue toothed GPS to work on the image too?

    I have googled for half an hour and memory map seems to do what I want but it's not free :(

    I may be going off-road soon and would like to know where i am :)


    thanks
    John
     
  2. atakd

    atakd

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Wirral
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can try SeaClear GPS Navigation Software which is designed for nautical charts and I know folk who have used scanned paper charts successfully with it. The software recognises WGS84 but not sure about any OS referencing.

    Andy
     
  3. TonyIsh UK

    TonyIsh UK

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    120
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have some success with Navio on my PDA (HPX2200 & bluetooth fortuna GPS) with Navio TinyStocks - Navio But battery life was so short, that I found a Garman Etrex was better, or Autoroute usung the same bluetooth gps unit.

    I was thinking of using a usb gps and a mini laptop with autoroute or memmap instead of purchasing a Tomtom

    Rgds
     
  4. johng

    johng

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    588
    Location:
    Kent/Sussex UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks Tony, I have tt6 on my PDA, it was free too :) works well

    although my new mobile even has some sat nav on it now....

    Andy, thanks will look into that, i work for a global mapping company so have millions of coordinate systems to hand :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2009
  5. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    28,645
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Ratings:
    +34,290
    There is glider software, if my memory is right CU or SEEU or something, free. Again if my memory still works you could photograph a map load .jpg and tell the software the coordinates.

    It can be done.
     
  6. johng

    johng

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    588
    Location:
    Kent/Sussex UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks Brian, your not as bad as they all say


    :winky:::bigsmile:
     
Loading...

Share This Page