Jun 8, 2019
Bexley Kent
Funster No
MH
Given up Motorhoming
Exp
May 2019
Well I think that’s what it is called.

I have just bought a halogen heater 400w 800w at present I pay 16.5 ppkw. So how much will it cost me to run it for 1 hour? How do I work out how many amps it will draw is it
240 divide by 800 =3amp?
As you can see I can’t get my head around electricity.

Apr 9, 2018
Worcestershire
Funster No
MH
Bailey Adamo 75-4t
Exp
March 2018
Volts x amps = watts

240v x 4 amps = 1000 watts (roughly)

800w / 240v = 3.33 amps

800w for an hour is 0.8 kwh * 16.5 = 13.2pp hour

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

kevenh

Free Member
Jun 1, 2019
Thatcham
Funster No
MH
Compass C-Class
Exp
I'm a Progressing Newbie
ohms law is for current, volts and resistance.
You want the power formula :?
Watts / Volts / Amps / Ohms calculator
Watts (W) - volts (V) - amps (A) - ohms (Ω) calculator.

Calculates power / voltage / current / resistance.

Enter 2 values to get the other values and press the Calculate button:

Resistance (R):
ohms (Ω) kiloohms (kΩ) megaohms (MΩ)
Current (I):
microamps (μA) milliamps (mA) amps (A) kiloamps (kA) megaamps (MA)
Voltage (V):
microvolts (μV) millivolts (mV) volts (V) kilovolts (kV) megavolts (MV)
Power (P):
microwatts (μW) milliwatts (mW) watts (W) kilowatts (kW) megawatts (MW)
glyphicons_halflings_018_cog.png
Calculate
glyphicons_halflings_013_remove.png
Reset
Ohms calculations
The resistance R in ohms (Ω) is equal to the voltage V in volts (V) divided by the current I in amps (A):

rvi.gif

The resistance R in ohms (Ω) is equal to the squared voltage V in volts (V) divided by the power P in watts (W):

rvp.gif

The resistance R in ohms (Ω) is equal to the power P in watts (W) divided by the squared current I in amps (A):

rpi.gif

Amps calculations
The current I in amps (A) is equal to the voltage V in volts (V) divided by the resistance R in ohms (Ω):

ivr.gif