Novice attempts a Peugeot Boxer conversion. (1 Viewer)

Oct 11, 2019
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Converting a Van
Exp
I'm a Total Newbie!
The van arrived today at 3.30 pm. They very kindly agreed to deliver it free of charge because I couldn't collect it because of the lock down.

(It looks much bigger sat alongside the car than it did among the other vans in the dealers yard! ? I'm going to have to get used to driving it when we are allowed out again.)

The van is a 2013 Peugeot Boxer 2.2L Diesel L3H2. It's had one other keeper since new, who seem to be a reasonably large conservatory company. So hopefully they have maintained it reasonably well.

I hope people will enjoy reading about my progress. I've enjoyed reading through old posts about other people's conversions on here! Hopefully too people will be able to help when I get stuck. I'm more than open to comments and observations because I don't really know what I'm doing!! So this could be fun. :hi: The only thing I have in my favour is that I did reasonably well in wood work in high school. :smiley:

van Picture1.png

Before

The picture below shows the what it was like at the start of the day inside, with the old wooden panels that once held the sides of peoples conservatories.

Van 5.jpg

After Day One

Van 6 - Day 1.JPG

Van 7 - Day 2.JPG

Next Jobs

1. Removal of the wooden fixtures on the passenger side.
  2. Removal of the wooden paneling on the side of the van.
  3. Clean everything inside - treat any rust spots (only found one or two very small bits so far!) and paint.
  4. Fixing holes where once there was a frame hung on the outside of the van. - I pan to put bolts in with rubber washers to seal it up. Any better ideas peeps?
  5. Removal of the metal frame around the drivers seat to make space for either a hatch or door from cab into living area.
  6. Ordering and installation of sound deadening material. Any recommendations?

Issues For Pondering