Nearly six weeks and I still don't have my motorhome (1 Viewer)

Aug 28, 2021
Oxford, UK
Funster No
MH
Auto-Sleeper Kingham
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi. Remember me?

I have previously posted about how I bought a new Auto Sleeper Kingham from Marquis Berkshire (deposit paid 14th Aug, full amount paid 22nd Aug). I won't repeat everything again but suffice to say that I still don't have the vehicle.

Every time I contact Marquis (about ten times over the past weeks) they tell me that they are awaiting the V55 (brand new vehicle registration) from the DVLA. Today I called the DVLA who told me they have no record of the registration request. I immediately called Marquis to find out what's going on.

Turns out the salesperson I dealt with has left. I spoke to another person who was more forthcoming. They have told me that they need to get a code from Peugeot (makers of the base vehicle) which gets sent to the DVLA and that is what they are still waiting for. They only get these codes released to them each Friday. Apparently the person who does that is currently off work. Unbelievable.

The guy I spoke to told me this happens with everyone buying a Peugeot (small comfort) and that I should've been warned (I wasn't). I was told there was nothing they could do other than wait.

I have written to their head office to complain because I find this completely unacceptable. They have £80k of my money and I am paying out for insurance and I don't have my van.

I just don't know what to do any more. I have seriously considered starting a refund process but I really don't want to do that as I have fallen in love with the damn thing and have prepared so much.

It would be bad enough if Marquis were to tell me 'Oh, it'll be another two weeks' or something but they've said they are unable to provide any timeline and are 'in touch with Peugeot every day'. Every week they tell me the same thing, that they hope it will be with them on Friday and then the following Monday they tell me same thing.