Mud, rain and filthy campsites - is this like that everywhere? (1 Viewer)

Maria41

Free Member
Aug 14, 2019
Surrey
Funster No
MH
Van conversion
Exp
I am a newbie
Ok, I am a bit new to campervan life.
We got a LWB van converted and hit the road on the 20th of September. Since then we crossed many countries ( France, Italy, Slovenia, Croatia, Montenegro, a bit of Bosnia, Albania, northern Greece, Bulgaria , and back to Greece and the Peloponnese and now in Sicily ). Up until Montenegro we had good weather and great campings with clean facilities with few exceptions.

Since then, it has been all dreadfully down hill. The campings, out of season, in Greece have been beyond description from bad to horrendous ( I mean toilets full of urine, human poo everywhere, grime all over the sinks). Even the better ones the toilets bin are overflowing with used toilet paper. Basically no one seems to clean the facilities at all for the full winter!

We decided to make a run for Italy but the 1st camping we stopped at was almost as bad. We camped wild instead. We have done a lot of wild camping since first entering Greece!
On top of that never ending rain means we are cooped inside a tiny camper, not that great.

Next winter (2020/2021) we are thinking going to Portugal and Spain. Are the campings going to be that bad? Or are they clean at least? I am seriously considering whether this is worth it. We can camp wild for one or two days. We have a small loo and a symbolic shower but we still need facilities every other day or two days.

We have to be back in the UK for mid January ( few commitments) and we plan already to avoid campings across Italy by using Mac Donald’s for WiFi and swimming pools for good showers. Currently we are in a very clean camping in Sicily and we will stay here for now. Still raining though. Been like that for the last 6 or 7 weeks. Not great fun. Mud everywhere all the time.