LED Lights

Silver-Fox

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 5, 2014
7,122
15,745
Cheltenham Spa
Funster No
33,201
MH
Rapido
Exp
im a not so newbie
Looking for some pointers.
I’m just fitting some led strips on the outside the of the MoHo under the awning in an Ali channel.
I thought nice and simple use the existing out side light as a power source plug the led box in and job done.
Nah the led strip just glimmers so I tried it on a 12v battery and all good.
Any ideas why this won’t work properly as I’m stumped.

Ta
 
Aug 22, 2007
1,131
9,938
essex
Funster No
145
MH
2017 sunlight t69s euro6
Exp
since 1999
reverse the connections leds are polarity conscious ie they must be connected the right way round sorry if i am teaching you to suck eggs be lucky

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

 
Jan 19, 2014
6,790
16,800
Derbyshire
Funster No
29,757
MH
Elddis Accordo 105
Exp
since 2014
They won't light at all if they're the wrong way round. Check the voltage at the LEDs, put the bulb holder back on if you haven't got a meter handy.
 
OP
Silver-Fox

Silver-Fox

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 5, 2014
7,122
15,745
Cheltenham Spa
Funster No
33,201
MH
Rapido
Exp
im a not so newbie
Thanks for the replies so quick.
Defiantly wired correctly.
I’m wondering if the draw for the led is too much as the switch is on the Rapido panel and it looks like all the cables on the back are very small with electronic stuff ie problem noted board etc.

Think I’ll hard wire back to jab batteries as it’s driving me nuts :mad:
 
OP
Silver-Fox

Silver-Fox

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 5, 2014
7,122
15,745
Cheltenham Spa
Funster No
33,201
MH
Rapido
Exp
im a not so newbie
have you taken out the original outside light bulbs?

Yeah tried it with original out side lamp and without.

Have I ever said I hate vehicle electrics :mad:

It’s really frustrating I can wire a house but vehicle electrics are a strange dark art :)
 
Mar 11, 2013
709
688
Gillingham
Funster No
25,056
MH
coachbuilt
Exp
since 2005
The current drawn by the LED's is negligible so the wiring will be OK. Is there a chance you've wired them in series?
 
OP
Silver-Fox

Silver-Fox

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 5, 2014
7,122
15,745
Cheltenham Spa
Funster No
33,201
MH
Rapido
Exp
im a not so newbie
The current drawn by the LED's is negligible so the wiring will be OK. Is there a chance you've wired them in series?

I checked the little box and led strip worked ok straight from a 12v battery.

I then soldered the feed to the box onto the two supply cables to the existing outside light.
Checked the supply cable to the box and all good at 12.5v. It’s one of this round plug in Jobbies.
I then plugged the led strip into the outlet on the box as both are made off with push fittings and as said the led strip is barely a glimmer.

Grrrr

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

 
Jan 19, 2014
4,580
14,057
south shields
Funster No
29,767
MH
Chausson 620 welcoome
Exp
since 1990
I was thinking along the same lines but if it works off a 12v battery I'm assuming it is a 12v control box.. they are sometimes supplied with a remote...
There isn' much else unless the supply is current monitored and restricted. .
Andy

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

 
Aug 6, 2013
10,972
13,953
Kendal, Cumbria
Funster No
27,352
MH
A Class
Exp
since 1999
Check the voltage at the connection you have made when the outside light and leds are switched on. If the leds are dim they are not receiving the voltage they expect.
 
OP
Silver-Fox

Silver-Fox

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 5, 2014
7,122
15,745
Cheltenham Spa
Funster No
33,201
MH
Rapido
Exp
im a not so newbie
Correct the little box controls the colour and brightness via the remote.

The two joints for the 12v supply was all good.

It’s a 12v system.

The only thing I didn’t check was the voltage when then led was switched on.

This is going to remain a mystery as I’ve pulled a dedicated cable through from the hab battery.
I’m still fiddling with it then I can fit the channel tomorrow.

Would still be nice to know why it didn’t work though.

Just when you think it’s an easy job it bites you on the a**e :)

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

 

filopastry

Free Member
Nov 11, 2013
1,018
1,735
london
Funster No
28,978
MH
littleun
Exp
newbie and learning every day
Ensure the earth is good and any soldered joints are 100%. I though I was being clever adding flux to wires to solder them, solder ran EVER so well ... BUT ... one year later nearly to the day I began having problems with "no/low power" on what should have been super dooper soldering. The problem is that flux is corrosive, very corrosive. The connectors I had soldered had oxidized and whilst apparently good next to no voltage flowed, there was actually 3volts showing. NEVER but NEVER use plumbers solder on wiring joints, my friend (huh) electrician took great pleasure explaining to me what a plonker I am. Only other thing I can think of you may have leds of a higher than 12V rating. good luck
 

hilldweller

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2008
643
36,088
Macclesfield
Funster No
5,089
MH
Zilch Mk1
Exp
From Aug 2007
Just when you think it’s an easy job it bites you on the a**e :)

More than ever these days. I'm wondering if you have a CANBUS vehicle and the spike as you connect that control box fools it into thinking there is a short so it shuts down the power.

But what you have done is 100% foolproof stay with it.
 
May 31, 2015
7,419
19,117
Cornwall
Funster No
36,638
MH
In between...
Exp
Getting there..
Serves you right for trying to bling bling dolly.....:D2

What you doing.... having a disco under the awning :party:

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

 

filopastry

Free Member
Nov 11, 2013
1,018
1,735
london
Funster No
28,978
MH
littleun
Exp
newbie and learning every day
But what you have done is 100% foolproof stay with it.
@Silver-Fox
I agree with @hilldweller but put a 3/4 amp fuse on the positive as close to the connection with the hab battery as possible to protect the feed, better a little fuse pops eh?

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

 

PeteH

Free Member
Nov 22, 2007
6,862
9,027
East Riding of Yorkshire
Funster No
900
MH
Rapido, 999M.
Exp
18+yrs plus 25+Towing
I`ve replaced the Filament bulbs in our Rapido awning light with a short run of led`s. They work perfectly off the existing wiring and switch. It would appear to me the current draw in the wiring/switch, is more than they can cope with?. ie; assuming you had the OLD filament bulbs which would consume (say) .5amp. I would suggest that the switch/wiring might only be sized to cope with about 1amp?. However (assuming you have the same 5M awning I have.) Even LED`s (5M run) will require more current than the existing cable/switch setup can cope with?.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

 
OP
Silver-Fox

Silver-Fox

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 5, 2014
7,122
15,745
Cheltenham Spa
Funster No
33,201
MH
Rapido
Exp
im a not so newbie
As I said earlier I ran a new feed in from the hab battery.
Put a 5amp in line fuse close to the battery and a switch off on the earth side.
All seems to be working ok
The run is just under 4m.
It took longer than I had expected due to having to fish a new feed in.

Anyway ready for next Christmas now :)

Thanks for all the advice (y)
 
OP
Silver-Fox

Silver-Fox

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 5, 2014
7,122
15,745
Cheltenham Spa
Funster No
33,201
MH
Rapido
Exp
im a not so newbie
I tried to upload a short video but it’s not playing the game :rolleyes:

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

 
Top