Leaky window - causes and cure? (1 Viewer)

Feb 13, 2017
Newcastle
Funster No
MH
2007 N-B Arto 69 EGB
Exp
I'm a newbie
Anybody else had issues with leaky windows?

Our van is 10 years old and the spongy seal that the windows sit in is a bit leaky. Basically water that pools in the central corner (if you can follow that) seems to soak through to the spongy seal that is on the inside until it is soaking.

It doesn't seem to go anywhere else - apart from perhaps down inside the door. Is that a problem?!

Anybody got any ideas about why this is happening and how to solve?

Many thanks,

Andy

p.s. It's a 2007 Arto 69

Attachments

• IMG_5188.JPG
    IMG_5188.JPG
    60.4 KB · Views: 66
  • IMG_5187.JPG
    IMG_5187.JPG
    106.1 KB · Views: 63
Jan 3, 2008
Pakefield, Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK
Funster No
MH
Looking
Exp
We have similar sliding windows as many A class vans do. The spongy material is not a complete seal though, it is merely the surface upon which the glass slides I think. I would suggest that you ensure the little drainage slots underneath the plastic covers on the outside of the window are not blocked as if they are water will not be able to escape and will run over the spongy parts and over the window channel causing a leak. You can pull up the spongy stuff and you will see the channel it sits in and the drainage slots so you check them from the channel side as well as from outside. You could also check with a squeeze bottle full of water whether they are draining correctly although from your picture it looks like some water is coming out of the one I can see.

OP
OP
A
Feb 13, 2017
Newcastle
Funster No
MH
2007 N-B Arto 69 EGB
Exp
I'm a newbie