tankerpaul50

Free Member
Likes collected
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
i'm a newbie
hi looking for some information we have a 7.5 mtr motorhome and are wondering if it is possible to take it onto Jersey and any recommendations for somewhere to pitch up (campsite)

MikeD

Free Member
Likes collected
Funster No
MH
IH PVC
Exp
Since 2012
Have you seen this?

Broken Link Removed

BreweryDave

LIFE MEMBER
Likes collected
Funster No
MH
None now!
Exp
Oddly enough, we have just returned from a few days in Jersey only yesterday! ( have family there) . We flew and stayed with them. I was surprised at how many large (ish) motorhomes there were on driveways, obviously owned there, but there was also a small aire ( well, looked like an aire) just off St. Peter’s valley with half a dozen on. My uncle was a Jersey cop for 30 years and said they never took much notice, especially off season. It’s a truly beautiful island and the wilding opportunities are everywhere, beach car parks and large pubs, but this is not officially encouraged as per the link above.

All that being said, the majority of the roads are very narrow, and worse still have no footpaths and the verges are mainly stone walls, with tight junctions, and I wouldnt be happy diving anything larger than a pvc over there, even that being said, I don’t think I’d take a van there, the driving would be a tad on the challenging side!

There is only 1 bit of dual carriageway along the coast out of St. Helier, and the max speed limit anywhere is 40, with mainly 20 or 30 limits. Not a place for touring in a MH, I suspect the local owners all hop off to froggy land.

Lovely place though! Just not in a MH. ( imho !)

Likes collected
Funster No
MH
rollerteam 259p
Exp
owned vw in 90's just purchased rollerteam
I have not taken motorhome to Jersey, the rules are or appear to be quite strict. The island is however beautiful, restaurants reasonable prices, good for walking and it had on our visits a really good and punctual bus service.