Internet in van

Likes collected
Funster No
MH
Hymer BMC t789
Exp
On 4th van so not a total newbie....
Looking for advice, I need to carry on working whilst away, and currently work online by tethering my mobile, which normally works ok, our new van only has a basic radio (poor reception) with no sat nav, so was thinking of streaming uk radio whilst away, and using a tablet for sat nav using Waze etc, which then got us thinking about using for TV when too windy for satellite, so was wondering if a Mifi would help with the signal, either with or without an external aerial. I can get 100gb data for £20pm for data sim, or do I just increase my data allowance and tether phone?
Any recommendations for kit?

River gypsys

Free Member
Likes collected
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
Since 2012
I'm not sure you can use your whole internet allowance when in Europe, I have unlimited internet with 3 but can only use 12 gig when in Europe and they tell me I can't tether either, I don't need to so I've never tried ,hope this helps

jollyrodger

LIFE MEMBER
Likes collected
Funster No
MH
Sprinter 416 Auto
Exp
Since 1968'ish
Take your pick ,
IMG_20190110_101821_204.JPG

TV ,films will eat data Radio I find not nearly as much .
Nord vpn
WiFi via fon or similar wifi hot spots
Others will be along to help I'm sure
I don't tether .
cubot phone and phablet take a data SIM ,and then stream to smart TV .
Works for me (y)
Good luck

OP
OP
Wh05apk
Likes collected
Funster No
MH
Hymer BMC t789
Exp
I'm with Vodafone, and I think they do allow use full use abroad.
Will a mifi provide better reception? Our should I just use phone to tether which will then save another contract.

Likes collected
Funster No
MH
Bailey Adamo 69-4
Exp
6 years
I have a 3 mifi. 20gb a month for £8. It seems to get a better signal than our phones. Worked very well in France last Sept. I think some of the 20gb is capped when abroad.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Likes collected
Funster No
MH
IH Tio 630 RL
Exp