Insulation of water and waste tanks (1 Viewer)

Feb 26, 2023
Minera, Wrexham, UK
Funster No
MH
Bessacarr 445
Exp
I'm a newbie
Looking for information whether I can insulate my water and waste tanks please.
I bought an old 1999 fiat auto trailer last January and the main time I will use it will be autumn/winter time.
I am away at the moment and have got up this morning with frozen water tank is it possible to insulate them
Thanks in advance

Dec 24, 2014
Hurstpierpoint. Mid Sussex.
Funster No
MH
Compass Navigator
Exp
Ever since lighting was by Calor gas.
Unless you apply warmth to the tank it matters little how much insulation (cladding) you fit because the water temp will eventually drop to ambient. If any water supply pipes are external they will also freeze.
Are the tanks internal (e.g. in an inside locker) or underslung?
Do you have a large battery capacity and a method of charging them or are you on EHU?

OP
OP
D
Feb 26, 2023
Minera, Wrexham, UK
Funster No
MH
Bessacarr 445
Exp
I'm a newbie
Unless you apply warmth to the tank it matters little how much insulation (cladding) you fit because the water temp will eventually drop to ambient. If any water supply pipes are external they will also freeze.
Are the tanks internal (e.g. in an inside locker) or underslung?
Do you have a large battery capacity and a method of charging them or are you on EHU?
Thanks for the prompt reply.
My tanks are under slung, I don’t have a large battery capacity but have solar panels fitted earlier this year , (300)
I am trying to stay away from EHU
I might be able to expand the area where the battery is but will need professional advice on that

Dec 24, 2014
Hurstpierpoint. Mid Sussex.
Funster No
MH
Compass Navigator
Exp
Ever since lighting was by Calor gas.
I'm afraid I can't provide much additional help as I only motorhome in Gentlemen's temps.